Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: adjusting band in a413

  1. #1
    Garrett booster Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Livonia, Michigan, United Stat
    Posts
    143

    adjusting band in a413

    Have my 87 yorker in my shop to adjust kickdown and the 1 external band adjustment. I see the part to adjust kickdown but not the adjustment for band. I see 1 bolt but its only have 1 nut.. not 2. Anyone have a pic that would show me the location.

  2. #2
    Moderator Turbo Mopar Staff 135sohc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    SoMd
    Posts
    5,175

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    Theres only 1 jam nut, all it needs.

    External adjusting location: Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Picture 198.jpg 
Views:	131 
Size:	521.2 KB 
ID:	29599

    For the internal band. http://www.civilianjeep.info/Transmi...light/TF01.gif
    Thats a fullsize torqueflite but the concept and overall appearence is 99% the same.

  3. #3
    Garrett booster Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Livonia, Michigan, United Stat
    Posts
    143

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    Ok. I saw that but it just has 1 nut on it. Hmmm
    Rich Bollei

    1987 New Yorker T2

    "Poor planning on your part does not make it an emergency on mine"

  4. #4
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor A.J.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,945

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    They all have one nut. It's a lock nut. You break the nut loose, make the adjustment, then tighten the lock nut down.

    A.J.

  5. #5
    Buy my stuff!!!!!!!!!!! :O) Turbo Mopar Vendor turbovanmanČ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC
    Posts
    43,307

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    That's what I told him,
    1989 FWD Turbo Caravan-2.5 TIII, GT35R, auto, a/c, cruise, pwr windows/locks, fully loaded with interior and ran with full exhaust. RETIRED FOR A FEW YEARS! 12.57@104 :O)
    1984 Chev Getaway van, 6.2 Diesel with a remote mounted turbo setup burning WMO.

    Aurora ignition wires for sale. Link to info

    Super60 roller cams or custom/billet cams. Link to info

    TIII adapter plates for a dizzy.Link to info.

  6. #6
    Hybrid booster Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    quebec (canada )
    Posts
    755

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    we need an article on the kc to cover auto trans seriously

  7. #7
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor A.J.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,945

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    I'm in the process of building a lock up torque converter transmission with an LSD from a non LU transmission for my Dad's '85 Chrysler T&C wagon. I'm gonna do a write-up on it. I'm probably a month or two away from getting that done. That one will probably get done before the one I'm doing for my SRT-4 build.

    A.J.

  8. #8
    Buy my stuff!!!!!!!!!!! :O) Turbo Mopar Vendor turbovanmanČ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC
    Posts
    43,307

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    Quote Originally Posted by shelbymonster View Post
    we need an article on the kc to cover auto trans seriously
    I keep meaning to get to it, its just a ton of work,

    If AJ does, that would be great.
    1989 FWD Turbo Caravan-2.5 TIII, GT35R, auto, a/c, cruise, pwr windows/locks, fully loaded with interior and ran with full exhaust. RETIRED FOR A FEW YEARS! 12.57@104 :O)
    1984 Chev Getaway van, 6.2 Diesel with a remote mounted turbo setup burning WMO.

    Aurora ignition wires for sale. Link to info

    Super60 roller cams or custom/billet cams. Link to info

    TIII adapter plates for a dizzy.Link to info.

  9. #9
    Garrett booster Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Livonia, Michigan, United Stat
    Posts
    143

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    yeah, im a tard. fouund it
    Rich Bollei

    1987 New Yorker T2

    "Poor planning on your part does not make it an emergency on mine"

  10. #10
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor A.J.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,945

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman View Post
    I keep meaning to get to it, its just a ton of work,

    If AJ does, that would be great.
    What I'd like to do is write it, send it to you, let you make any additions and then publish it. You've done more of these than me. I have more free time to write it than you. This is probably the only way to get it done.

    A.J.

  11. #11
    Garrett booster Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Livonia, Michigan, United Stat
    Posts
    143

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    Quote Originally Posted by A.J. View Post
    What I'd like to do is write it, send it to you, let you make any additions and then publish it. You've done more of these than me. I have more free time to write it than you. This is probably the only way to get it done.

    A.J.
    Make sure you include lots of pictures... i don't follow instructions well without them :-)
    Rich Bollei

    1987 New Yorker T2

    "Poor planning on your part does not make it an emergency on mine"

  12. #12
    Buy my stuff!!!!!!!!!!! :O) Turbo Mopar Vendor turbovanmanČ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC
    Posts
    43,307

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    Quote Originally Posted by A.J. View Post
    What I'd like to do is write it, send it to you, let you make any additions and then publish it. You've done more of these than me. I have more free time to write it than you. This is probably the only way to get it done.

    A.J.
    Sounds good, or you do the rebuild part, and I'll add the upgrade/performance stuff and part numbers, which I should have done along time ago,
    1989 FWD Turbo Caravan-2.5 TIII, GT35R, auto, a/c, cruise, pwr windows/locks, fully loaded with interior and ran with full exhaust. RETIRED FOR A FEW YEARS! 12.57@104 :O)
    1984 Chev Getaway van, 6.2 Diesel with a remote mounted turbo setup burning WMO.

    Aurora ignition wires for sale. Link to info

    Super60 roller cams or custom/billet cams. Link to info

    TIII adapter plates for a dizzy.Link to info.

  13. #13
    Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tuscola, IL
    Posts
    16,665

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    Rich, if you need anything scanned I have the FSMs.

  14. #14
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor A.J.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,945

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    Quote Originally Posted by V8GremlinX View Post
    Make sure you include lots of pictures... i don't follow instructions well without them :-)
    I keep a camera in my shop. Pictures make a good write-up a great often referred to write-up.

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman View Post
    Sounds good, or you do the rebuild part, and I'll add the upgrade/performance stuff and part numbers, which I should have done along time ago,
    I plan on doing ALL the upgrades to the transmission: high capacity clutch packs, line pressure adjustment hole, bleed in valve body to up line pressure, etc. Before I put the tranny in I'll do the write-up and send it to you. You can review it and give me your feedback and point out anything I missed or did wrong.

    A.J.

  15. #15
    Buy my stuff!!!!!!!!!!! :O) Turbo Mopar Vendor turbovanmanČ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC
    Posts
    43,307

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    Sounds good.
    1989 FWD Turbo Caravan-2.5 TIII, GT35R, auto, a/c, cruise, pwr windows/locks, fully loaded with interior and ran with full exhaust. RETIRED FOR A FEW YEARS! 12.57@104 :O)
    1984 Chev Getaway van, 6.2 Diesel with a remote mounted turbo setup burning WMO.

    Aurora ignition wires for sale. Link to info

    Super60 roller cams or custom/billet cams. Link to info

    TIII adapter plates for a dizzy.Link to info.

  16. #16
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    18

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    You've got a great idea there. I finally found the archive of the A413 mods a while back after reading post after post. You guys have a better understanding of how to make them work than anywhere else I have found. I joined after I realized what you guys have been up to. Never thought I would want to hot rod a Mini-van till I got one!

  17. #17
    Buy my stuff!!!!!!!!!!! :O) Turbo Mopar Vendor turbovanmanČ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC
    Posts
    43,307

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    Did you find Carls' site, I have it here saved for future reference.
    1989 FWD Turbo Caravan-2.5 TIII, GT35R, auto, a/c, cruise, pwr windows/locks, fully loaded with interior and ran with full exhaust. RETIRED FOR A FEW YEARS! 12.57@104 :O)
    1984 Chev Getaway van, 6.2 Diesel with a remote mounted turbo setup burning WMO.

    Aurora ignition wires for sale. Link to info

    Super60 roller cams or custom/billet cams. Link to info

    TIII adapter plates for a dizzy.Link to info.

  18. #18
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    18

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    What I found http://web.archive.org/web/200401011...des+detail.htm alot of great info. I finally printed it because it took so long to link to the pictures and sometimes just wouldn't link.

    ---------- Post added at 09:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:44 PM ----------

    Appears the link is not working again.

  19. #19
    Buy my stuff!!!!!!!!!!! :O) Turbo Mopar Vendor turbovanmanČ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC
    Posts
    43,307

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    Quote Originally Posted by voyager92 View Post
    What I found http://web.archive.org/web/200401011...des+detail.htm alot of great info. I finally printed it because it took so long to link to the pictures and sometimes just wouldn't link.

    ---------- Post added at 09:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:44 PM ----------

    Appears the link is not working again.

    Use this site and also some other part numbers-

    http://www.turbo-mopar.com/forums/sh...uild-info-A413

    http://www.turbo-mopar.com/forums/sh...t-part-numbers.
    1989 FWD Turbo Caravan-2.5 TIII, GT35R, auto, a/c, cruise, pwr windows/locks, fully loaded with interior and ran with full exhaust. RETIRED FOR A FEW YEARS! 12.57@104 :O)
    1984 Chev Getaway van, 6.2 Diesel with a remote mounted turbo setup burning WMO.

    Aurora ignition wires for sale. Link to info

    Super60 roller cams or custom/billet cams. Link to info

    TIII adapter plates for a dizzy.Link to info.

  20. #20
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    18

    Re: adjusting band in a413

    Yes thats the info. Thanks for the part numbers too.

Similar Threads

  1. Narrow band output from Wide band more accurate?
    By badandy in forum EFI Tuning
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-26-2008, 10:13 PM
  2. why the wide band is better than the narrow band
    By shadowdude in forum Electrical & Fuel System
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: 01-02-2008, 08:56 AM
  3. Help! Adjusting Linkage
    By 86GLHS in forum Transmission
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2007, 09:15 PM
  4. best place to buy Drums/band/cluches a413
    By boostedgolf in forum Transmission
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-04-2006, 10:53 PM
  5. Adjusting my BOV
    By Turbo_Rampage in forum "I need help!"
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-21-2006, 02:23 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •