CRMB - Prime Ad
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: What is needed to use nutserts?

  1. #1

    What is needed to use nutserts?

    I had a thread out there about how to bolt the 3in downpipe to the 3in swingvalve to 63a/r housing.

    One post mentioned nutserts. I've been doing some research, but can't find alot of good info other how much everything costs.

    As it stands, I didn't know a tool was needed to insert a nutsert. The images I seen, it looked like they were pressed in. In researching, I find the nutsert is pulled in to the hole.

    What I have right now. My trusty craftsmen swivel riveting tool. I also have 8mm nutserts. Can I buy the correct adapter and use my rivet gun? Is there a home made tool way to go about this?

    Also, some general directions on which end of the nutsert goes into the drilled hole?

    later
    James
    James Dempsey Jr
    91 Dodge Shadow ES convertible
    95 Dodge Neon Sport sedan 2.4 5spd

  2. #2
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor minigts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    5,809

    Re: What is needed to use nutserts?

    Pics would help greatly.


    Jon Trotter

    1984 Dodge Shelby Charger, SCCA E Production Class
    1985 Dodge Shelby Charger, Currently decommissioned
    1987 Shelby GLHS, #937
    1987 Shelby Lancer, #628

    Quote Originally Posted by Reeves View Post
    I can be ready. Please send pics of wife.
    _____DodgeZ add comments here______

  3. #3
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Posts
    2,312

    Re: What is needed to use nutserts?

    Here's some pics from Car Craft, scroll down for more pics.


    http://www.carcraft.com/projectbuild.../photo_18.html
    “If the people of the nation understood our banking and monetary system, I believe there would be a revolution before tomorrow morning.” -Henry Ford

    Four cowboys put up their belongings as collateral to borrow a deck of cards. The hitch is that each of the four must bring back 14 cards at the end of the evening — a mathematical impossibility (there are only 52 cards in all, that is to say, 13 to each). In the end, one player ends up with only 10 cards and loses his belongings... that is the problem with the Fed. It creates money to make loans but doesn't create the money to pay the interest.”

  4. #4
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor A.J.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,950

    Re: What is needed to use nutserts?

    Quote Originally Posted by 86Shelby View Post
    Here's some pics from Car Craft, scroll down for more pics.


    http://www.carcraft.com/projectbuild.../photo_18.html
    That's the tool. I had to buy one to put my roof rack on. It was about $70. You can get that tool at Napa. It's also called a "Thread Setter." You can change the rod to do different size nut serts.

    A.J.

  5. #5
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Spokane, Wa
    Posts
    8,198

    Re: What is needed to use nutserts?

    bahh, 8x1.25mm heli-coil works better and easy to replace if you do mess it up. it's what I have in my 3" swingvalve and bolting it up is a cake walk, all my swingvalves will have heli-coils installed in them from now on.

  6. #6
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor A.J.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,950

    Re: What is needed to use nutserts?

    Quote Originally Posted by GLHNSLHT2 View Post
    bahh, 8x1.25mm heli-coil works better and easy to replace if you do mess it up. it's what I have in my 3" swingvalve and bolting it up is a cake walk, all my swingvalves will have heli-coils installed in them from now on.
    True. Nutserts work best in sheet metal. When you can't get to the other side to tighten down the nut like a roof rack. I should have said that before.

    A.J.

  7. #7
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor rx2mazda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Baltimore,MD
    Posts
    2,587

    Re: What is needed to use nutserts?

    Quote Originally Posted by GLHNSLHT2 View Post
    bahh, 8x1.25mm heli-coil works better and easy to replace if you do mess it up. it's what I have in my 3" swingvalve and bolting it up is a cake walk, all my swingvalves will have heli-coils installed in them from now on.
    +2 I would not use nutserts on a DP.
    Carroll

    BLUE, 85 GLH-R/T, TIII powered, Bigstuff3 SEFI, ID1000's. PTE5857
    RED, 91 Spirit R/T - Holset HE351 - 12.6 @ 107...R.I.P.
    RED, 88 Shadow ES - auto - slow



    New clutch combo is the SH!T!

  8. #8
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    2,641

    Re: What is needed to use nutserts?

    we use them all the time in aircrafts. Mostly in aluminum tubing. I dont see why they woulod be any good in a downpipe though.

  9. #9
    turbo addict JDAWG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Hagerstown, Maryland, United S
    Posts
    2,477

    Re: What is needed to use nutserts?

    yea its like a rivet gun lookin thing but $70? Im pretty sure my dad bought on online from napa and it was like $30

  10. #10
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor tmef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Independence, KS
    Posts
    225

    Re: What is needed to use nutserts?

    [QUOTE=inmyshadow;539839]I had a thread out there about how to bolt the 3in downpipe to the 3in swingvalve to 63a/r housing.

    Why not just use a nut?
    85 Shelby Charger
    Commonblock T-II, GT3076, TU Cast Header, 3" SV,
    TU R-2 Plus Billet Cam, TU Custom Calibration

  11. #11
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Spokane, Wa
    Posts
    8,198

    Re: What is needed to use nutserts?

    cause you have to fight with a nut, and a 3" Swingvalve on a .63 housing is very very tight. With my heli-coils I just put a socket wrench with a long extension on the bolt, lay on the floor and feed it up through the flange to the swingvalve from behind the kmember. Just get it to the swingvalve and start turning the wrench, no need to use a 2nd hand to try and hold a nut up there to get started etc.

  12. #12
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor tmef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Independence, KS
    Posts
    225

    Re: What is needed to use nutserts?

    I have no problem, no fight at all using a nut. I use a nut that uses a 10mm wrench.
    85 Shelby Charger
    Commonblock T-II, GT3076, TU Cast Header, 3" SV,
    TU R-2 Plus Billet Cam, TU Custom Calibration

Similar Threads

  1. GT30R installation: Fittings Needed?
    By badandy in forum Turbos & Intercoolers!
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 11:09 AM
  2. Transmission L-Body pedals needed
    By 2.2turboscotty in forum Parts Wanted
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-19-2008, 11:33 AM
  3. Transmission Clutch needed ASAP Detroit area
    By Radiant_Red in forum Parts Wanted
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-17-2008, 11:14 PM
  4. needed charge air stuff!!!!
    By vxvxAndrewxvxv in forum Parts Wanted
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-09-2007, 12:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •