Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: 3.0L Turbo Budget Build

Garrett booster Turbo Mopar Contributor

3.0L Turbo Budget Build

Ok, its time to start my turbo build thread....I am going to be doing this on an extremely tight budget mostly because I am a full time student without much income to speak of.

First off....Car is a 1991 Dodge Spirit R/T.

I bought the car as a roller - body only. I found a low-mileage (around 45k miles) 3.0L that came out of a 1994 Acclaim and swapped it in with a A543 bought from Jason in MI. As of right now it is running on the stock 3.0L/A543 computer, but I have a MSII waiting to be swapped in as soon as it gets warm.

Upgrades so far include all the basic N/A updates:

1" plenum spacers (these may need to go for the turbo install due to fitment issues)
    New oil pump
    New water pump
    New timing belt
    52mm throttle body
    K&N air filter (I know - shouldn't be on the TB..)
    Underdrive pulley
    Ported upper plenum
    Crower regrind turbo cams
    Full mandrel-bent 3" exhaust
    Wiring harness from a 3.0L/A543 Daytona
    Fidanza Aluminum Flywheel
    New 205/65/R15 (i believe - have to check) Kumho ESCTA ASX on stock rims
    New Stock TIII Clutch

Probably lots more I have forgotten...anyhow...this is what I am working with and I will post up more info and parts as I start to collect them. The car already hauls some serious butt and I am very excited to see what the results will be.
    Last edited by nmw2006; 03-18-2009 at 05:10 PM.

Re: 3.0L Turbo Budget Build

First part I found is a used Turbonetics Evolution external wastegate. It has a 5psi spring installed.

Got it off ebay for $125 shipped.

Since I am going to be using Ed Kelley's headers, this should be perfect for my application.
    Last edited by nmw2006; 03-18-2009 at 05:11 PM.

Intercooler and BOV adapter pipe are on order....pics soon

Plus Ed's header whenever he gets them done and shipped out.

Hybrid booster