Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Aftermarket gauge power source?

  1. #1
    Hybrid booster
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Grants Pass, OR
    Posts
    289

    Aftermarket gauge power source?

    I'm getting pretty close to finishing my TII rebuild, and I'm going to have a few aftermarket gauges (water temp, oil pressure, A/F monitor, Boost gauge). I'm hoping to draw power from one source and cleanly split the signal to go to the individual gauges.

    Looking for ideas on how to do so! I know I could throw something together, but I was curious what you guys have come up with. Trying to stay away from a jimmy rigged solution. Looking online I didn't find anything suited to split a low-draw power source, they all seemed to be made for higher draw systems. Thanks guys!

    -Zach

  2. #2
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,659

    Re: Aftermarket gauge power source?

    accessory feed (switched power) from the fuse box?

    I had a few fuse slots that weren't populated with both terminals for fuses so I used a spade terminal connected to an inline fuse to feed various things. some were switched and some were constant power. i used switched power and i believe it was labeled "acc"

    Brian

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

  3. #3
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,617

    Re: Aftermarket gauge power source?

    Quote Originally Posted by Aries_Turbo View Post
    accessory feed (switched power) from the fuse box?

    I had a few fuse slots that weren't populated with both terminals for fuses so I used a spade terminal connected to an inline fuse to feed various things. some were switched and some were constant power. i used switched power and i believe it was labeled "acc"

    Brian
    ya same here, in addition, I added a battery/IGN/Gnd distribution terminal strip on the dash right behind the cluster. If I need power, I just need to pop the cluster out.
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, SLH with rear disks
    '87 CSX #432 2.5 CB TII, SLH

  4. #4
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,659

    Re: Aftermarket gauge power source?

    cool^^^

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

Similar Threads

  1. Interior H-body custom gauge mount and air/fuel gauge - autometer
    By J&H Ryan in forum Parts For Sale
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-21-2012, 12:21 PM
  2. Power module connector source
    By cordes in forum Electrical & Fuel System
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-13-2009, 07:26 PM
  3. external voltage reg power source
    By mboyek in forum Electrical & Fuel System
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-27-2008, 09:16 PM
  4. powering aftermarket gauge questions
    By JuXsA in forum Maintenance & General Tech
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2008, 04:17 PM
  5. Power Brake Booster Check Valve for BOV vacuum source
    By badandy in forum Maintenance & General Tech
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-2007, 04:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •