Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Aftermarket gauge power source?

  1. #1
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Grants Pass, OR
    Posts
    326

    Aftermarket gauge power source?

    I'm getting pretty close to finishing my TII rebuild, and I'm going to have a few aftermarket gauges (water temp, oil pressure, A/F monitor, Boost gauge). I'm hoping to draw power from one source and cleanly split the signal to go to the individual gauges.

    Looking for ideas on how to do so! I know I could throw something together, but I was curious what you guys have come up with. Trying to stay away from a jimmy rigged solution. Looking online I didn't find anything suited to split a low-draw power source, they all seemed to be made for higher draw systems. Thanks guys!

    -Zach

  2. #2
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,751

    Re: Aftermarket gauge power source?

    accessory feed (switched power) from the fuse box?

    I had a few fuse slots that weren't populated with both terminals for fuses so I used a spade terminal connected to an inline fuse to feed various things. some were switched and some were constant power. i used switched power and i believe it was labeled "acc"

    Brian

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

  3. #3
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,697

    Re: Aftermarket gauge power source?

    Quote Originally Posted by Aries_Turbo View Post
    accessory feed (switched power) from the fuse box?

    I had a few fuse slots that weren't populated with both terminals for fuses so I used a spade terminal connected to an inline fuse to feed various things. some were switched and some were constant power. i used switched power and i believe it was labeled "acc"

    Brian
    ya same here, in addition, I added a battery/IGN/Gnd distribution terminal strip on the dash right behind the cluster. If I need power, I just need to pop the cluster out.
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, SLH with rear disks
    '87 CSX #432 2.5 CB TII, SLH

  4. #4
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,751

    Re: Aftermarket gauge power source?

    cool^^^

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

Similar Threads

  1. Interior H-body custom gauge mount and air/fuel gauge - autometer
    By J&H Ryan in forum Parts For Sale
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-21-2012, 12:21 PM
  2. Power module connector source
    By cordes in forum Electrical & Fuel System
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-13-2009, 07:26 PM
  3. external voltage reg power source
    By mboyek in forum Electrical & Fuel System
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-27-2008, 09:16 PM
  4. powering aftermarket gauge questions
    By JuXsA in forum Maintenance & General Tech
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2008, 04:17 PM
  5. Power Brake Booster Check Valve for BOV vacuum source
    By badandy in forum Maintenance & General Tech
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-2007, 04:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •