Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: AC How To?

Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar

AC How To?

I've never done any AC work before. Joy would like AC in vehicles this summer. I'm currently 0/9 on the AC front for the fleet. This presents a problem for my well being.

So far, I can tell that I need a set of gauges and a vacuum pump. I would ideally like the pump to pull double duty for future carbon fiber projects, so I would like one that pulls an exceptional vacuum and flows well too. Any suggestions in this realm?

It looks to me like the compressor in my Lancer leaks the oil out the front side of it. The Voyager, I'm not sure about, but I'm assuming the compressor clutch is bad because the previous owner removed the pulley assy. My 05 Neon had the refrigerant carelessly evacuated by a guy who did my heater core over the winter break. I figure if I start with these vehicles, probably starting with the Voyager it would be the way to go.

Any advice on how to best get this going?

Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor

Re: AC How To?

Hi Brian,
    I have converted my non AC DD Sundance to AC 5 years ago. I did need to read tons to find out the best way to fix leaks and clean up the inside.
    At first I used a vacuum pump from work that pumps to less than a micron but that is over kill for sure, In a pinch I also used an old fridge compressor as a vacuum source and it was OK. A few years back I bought a 75 micron pump from Harbour Freight and it works nicely https://www.harborfreight.com/automo...ump-61245.html
    You will also need some sort of gauge set such as https://www.harborfreight.com/automo...set-62707.html