Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Sci/FTDI cable issues

  1. #1
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    California
    Posts
    38

    Sci/FTDI cable issues

    I have a boostbutton sci connector that I would like to use for datalogging on my 89 t2 smec, however I have had quite a bit of issues getting it to actually work. To my understanding, it should be mostly setup already, but I have used FT_prog to ensure that the Tx and Rx are inverted as well as have the d2xx checked off (this was unchecked when I first received the cable...not sure if that makes a difference). The device manager shows that the com port is present and the usb serial converter properties shows that vcp is loaded.

    When I have the ignition key on and click the record button, MPScan tells me to try again and that the key needs to be turned on and off again.

    One odd thing I noticed is that the bottom corner of MPScan says FTDI port settings, but sometimes it says Generic port settings instead. I have attached a screencap of this:

    Anyways, I must be doing something wrong, but I have no clue what it is. There is seemingly no pattern to the change in Generic port to FTDI port either.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	146 
Size:	1.3 KB 
ID:	64241  

  2. #2
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    171

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    Sounds like you have every correct. If you have the right Com port selected in MPScan but it displayed generic in the lower corner you can just close the program and re-open. It should then list FTDI.

    When I first tried flashing/logging I was pulling my hair out trying to get it to work. It turned out that my SCI cables (actually the connector boards) had issues.

  3. #3
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    California
    Posts
    38

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    Reopening the program did change it to list FTDI, so that solves that mystery, but unfortunately it looks like I'm unable to borrow a cable from anyone nearby. How can I go about checking mine for physical faults or where do I go about purchasing another?

  4. #4
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,097

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    Quote Originally Posted by jrod1231 View Post
    Reopening the program did change it to list FTDI, so that solves that mystery, but unfortunately it looks like I'm unable to borrow a cable from anyone nearby. How can I go about checking mine for physical faults or where do I go about purchasing another?
    Send us a picture of both sides of the board, it could be an assembly issue.
    Last edited by chromguy; 08-02-2019 at 08:28 AM.
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    '87 CSX #432

  5. #5
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    California
    Posts
    38

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_20190802-191751_Gallery.jpg 
Views:	40 
Size:	367.1 KB 
ID:	64247Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_20190802-191753_Gallery.jpg 
Views:	37 
Size:	247.7 KB 
ID:	64248

  6. #6
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,097

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    If you have the ability to solder, I would recommend to reflow the solder on the pins, Including the Rx,Tx and ground pins of the SCI connector as several are not soldered on both side. This may or maynot make a difference.
    Oh are you sure the wires are connected to the proper positions?
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    '87 CSX #432

  7. #7
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    171

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    I'll resist asking where it came from.

    I'm guessing it doesn't pass the cable test in MPSCAN or MPTUNE, whichever has it? Where you jump the RX and TX blades and run the cable test to make sure it's good.

    I don't see a resistor installed. It don't believe there is any need for you to have one using this for a SMEC. But without one installed or anything connecting those pads... your TX spade isn't connected to the TX of your cable.

    If you bridge those pads at "R1" you should have your connection.

  8. #8
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    171

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    If you want a quick test that might work without any soldering... assuming you can get a good enough connection just by holding it in place. Take that extra green wire that goes to the "Bt" spot. The one that isn't part of the FTDI cable. Hold it to the solder pad just above the R of "R1" or the 1 of "D1". Either should then give a connection between the TX spade and the TX wire of the FTDI cable.

  9. #9
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,097

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan H View Post

    I don't see a resistor installed. It don't believe there is any need for you to have one using this for a SMEC. But without one installed or anything connecting those pads... your TX spade isn't connected to the TX of your cable.

    If you bridge those pads at "R1" you should have your connection.
    Good catch Dan
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    '87 CSX #432

  10. #10
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    California
    Posts
    38

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    I bridged the gap for R1 and I'm able to run mpscan now, however the mpscan dash is all over the place and my logs are terribly incorrect. When idling, the map and rpm gauges bounce all over whereas the mph stays at 0.

    Also, when I stop recording a log, the engine's actual idle raises to about 1500 rpm.

    Does this seem like a hardware issue still? (Perhaps the missing resistor?) Here is what the board looks like now.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190805_140104.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	298.6 KB 
ID:	64250  

  11. #11
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    California
    Posts
    38

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    Any ideas on what type of diode is supposed to be used and what kind of resistor? I would be willing to solder those up if someone knows.

  12. #12
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    171

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    Quote Originally Posted by jrod1231 View Post
    Any ideas on what type of diode is supposed to be used and what kind of resistor? I would be willing to solder those up if someone knows.
    I don't think either should have any effect on the issues you are experiencing. They are only needed for protection if you are using the cable to flash a SBEC. For a SMEC, I'm pretty certain you can just put a spade connector on the RX and TX of an FTDI cable for logging (after cable setup).
    Did you re-flow the solder like Miles suggested? To me it looks like there may have been a lot of heat into the board when the header connector was soldered.

    Have you double checked all of your settings in MPSCAN? Like your profile and connection has the correct ECU type selected?

  13. #13
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    1,976

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    A stock t2 smec or a turbonator cal?
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  14. #14
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    1,976

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    Quote Originally Posted by wowzer View Post
    A stock t2 smec or a turbonator cal?
    any update?
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  15. #15
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    California
    Posts
    38

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    Apologies for the late reply. It was just a dumb mistake on my part. I was using my factory smec. Once i switched over to my socketed smec, MPscan worked just fine. However, I do still have an issue with the idle.

    Whenever I stop a log, the idle raises to about 1500 rpm, which is a bit odd. When I shut it down and start it back up, everything returns to normal.

  16. #16
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    1,976

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    Quote Originally Posted by jrod1231 View Post
    ...

    Whenever I stop a log, the idle raises to about 1500 rpm, which is a bit odd. When I shut it down and start it back up, everything returns to normal.
    i need to do some investigating on this. i was aware that the LM sometimes would act up this way but haven't heard about the smec doing it. curious if some of the other smec users (wayne H?) experience this.
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  17. #17
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Waukesha, WI
    Posts
    44

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    Never experienced this idle increase with a SMEC. I do see this regularly on my LM k-car.

  18. #18
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    1,976

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    which specific smec cal are you using?
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  19. #19
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    California
    Posts
    38

    Re: Sci/FTDI cable issues

    I'm using this cal: T-SMEC_22_ATX_A124_Masi

    I made a few changes, but even when running the bone stock turbonator cal, I have the same issue.

Similar Threads

  1. BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help
    By convx4 in forum Electrical & Fuel System
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11-08-2018, 09:23 PM
  2. MPScan USB FTDI cable advice
    By firehawk618 in forum EFI Tuning
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-23-2018, 09:56 PM
  3. Ok to solder ftdi cable to LM?
    By itoktoeatfish in forum EFI Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-04-2017, 10:33 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-14-2014, 08:43 AM
  5. BoostButton SCI Cable Issues
    By ShelGame in forum General Vendor Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-30-2011, 09:09 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •