Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: replacing vacuum lines

  1. #1
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    georgia
    Posts
    44

    replacing vacuum lines

    So I just picked up a stone stock all original T1 laser. I started by replace all cracked rubber fuel lines. I'm now wanting to do the rubber vacuum lines. My question is, what is this piece in the picture, and should these 2 ports be capped or open? The car does have a high idle (about 1250 RPM when warmed up and goes to about 2k when i turn on the A/C.) Possible vacuum leak? Car throws no codes.

  2. #2
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,092

    Re: replacing vacuum lines

    Yes does sound like leak, the older AIS on log T1 are also known to need a regular cleaning as it will act like a vacuum leak, I need to clean mine every 6 months as my is a DD.
    I have posted a procedure on this forum, let me know if you need a link
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    '87 CSX #432

  3. #3
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    georgia
    Posts
    44

    Re: replacing vacuum lines

    A link would be awesome.Do you know what the part is in the picture and if those 2 nipples or ports need to be open or capped?

  4. #4
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,092

    Re: replacing vacuum lines

    For picture it is best to click "Go Advanced" and add pictures with Manage Attachments:

    re AIS
    The best way to search any forum including ours is to use the "site:" function of google
    Such as "ais chromguy site:www.turbo-mopar.com"
    https://lmgtfy.com/?q=ais+chromguy+site%3Awww.turbo-mopar.comhttps://lmgtfy.com/?q=ais+chromguy+site%3Awww.turbo-mopar.com
    Here is the #1 hit
    http://www.turbo-mopar.com/forums/sh...7-and-older-T1

    https://lmgtfy.com/?q=ais+chromguy+site%3Awww.turbo-mopar.co
    https://lmgtfy.com/?q=ais+chromguy+site%3Awww.turbo-mopar.com
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    '87 CSX #432

  5. #5
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    georgia
    Posts
    44

    Re: replacing vacuum lines

    are you saying you are not seeing the picture in my post?



    Quote Originally Posted by chromguy View Post
    For picture it is best to click "Go Advanced" and add pictures with Manage Attachments:

    re AIS
    The best way to search any forum including ours is to use the "site:" function of google
    Such as "ais chromguy site:www.turbo-mopar.com"
    https://lmgtfy.com/?q=ais+chromguy+site%3Awww.turbo-mopar.comhttps://lmgtfy.com/?q=ais+chromguy+site%3Awww.turbo-mopar.com
    Here is the #1 hit
    http://www.turbo-mopar.com/forums/sh...7-and-older-T1

    https://lmgtfy.com/?q=ais+chromguy+site%3Awww.turbo-mopar.co
    https://lmgtfy.com/?q=ais+chromguy+site%3Awww.turbo-mopar.com

  6. #6
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,092

    Re: replacing vacuum lines

    LOL, yes I do not see your picture except in your other post. We have found that using the advanced function is much more reliable
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    '87 CSX #432

  7. #7
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Spokane, Wa
    Posts
    8,984

    Re: replacing vacuum lines

    I can't see the pic.

    The lines on these cars are nylon. You can get 100ft 5/32 and 1/4" rolls here for cheap: that'll last you forever in replacement amounts.

    https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...bing_-a-_hoses


    It's the "straight nylon tubing" Now the polyurethane bends slightly better, flows just a hair more and will last forever without replacement but you have to be careful with it's routing. It has a lower melting point by 20 degrees. So if it touches the 180 degree+ cylinder head it'll suck shut. But if you're careful with the routing it's great stuff as it doesn't get hard and brittle. You just can't be a lazy idiot when installing it I run it on all my stuff.

    Friend brought me this:



    I turned it into this:



    Fully functioning/legal 88 vac harness.




    And heavily modified but still passes the sniff test:


  8. #8
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    georgia
    Posts
    44

    Re: replacing vacuum lines

    Interesting, i had no idea, the picture shows when i view the post but no one else is seeing it... yet it shows in my test post. weird stuff

    Quote Originally Posted by chromguy View Post
    LOL, yes I do not see your picture except in your other post. We have found that using the advanced function is much more reliable

  9. #9
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,092

    Re: replacing vacuum lines

    Quote Originally Posted by Barraguy View Post
    Interesting, i had no idea, the picture shows when i view the post but no one else is seeing it... yet it shows in my test post. weird stuff
    Yup, happened to us all!
    On the vacuum lines, I use teflon with Pieco fittings as it was in the dumpster at work. I hate when that happens!
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    '87 CSX #432

  10. #10
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    georgia
    Posts
    44

    Re: replacing vacuum lines

    So i've searched for info on trying to get my AIS disconnected from the main wire harness to get it to my bench and i used your suggestions below AIS repair site turbo-mopar.com and i get.......
    1. The following words are either very common, too long, or too short and were not included in your search:
      "ais+site+turbo-mopar.com"


    re AIS
    The best way to search any forum including ours is to use the "site:" function of google
    Such as "ais chromguy site:www.turbo-mopar.com"
    https://lmgtfy.com/?q=ais+chromguy+site%3Awww.turbo-mopar.comhttps://lmgtfy.com/?q=ais+chromguy+site%3Awww.turbo-mopar.com
    Here is the #1 hit
    http://www.turbo-mopar.com/forums/sh...7-and-older-T1

    https://lmgtfy.com/?q=ais+chromguy+site%3Awww.turbo-mopar.co
    https://lmgtfy.com/?q=ais+chromguy+site%3Awww.turbo-mopar.com[/QUOTE]

  11. #11
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,092

    Re: replacing vacuum lines

    ais site:www.turbo-mopar.com in google the colon tells google to only search "ais" on the web site after the colon

    here is the link using DuckDuckGo
    https://duckduckgo.com/?q=ais+site%3...tb=v1-1&ia=web.
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    '87 CSX #432

Similar Threads

  1. HELP - Replacing Brittle Vacuum Lines / Hoses
    By TurboZJockey in forum Maintenance & General Tech
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-21-2016, 12:39 PM
  2. Replacing vacuum and other rubber lines...
    By BerBer5985 in forum Maintenance & General Tech
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-16-2011, 12:31 AM
  3. Replacing Vacuum Hoses
    By austinlarg in forum Maintenance & General Tech
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-01-2011, 07:13 PM
  4. Replacing The Fuel Lines
    By Polygon in forum Electrical & Fuel System
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-11-2009, 09:19 PM
  5. Replacing hard plastic vacuum lines
    By chilort in forum Maintenance & General Tech
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-01-2008, 03:28 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •