Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Intermediate shaft machining

Hybrid View

Garrett booster

Intermediate shaft machining

I have decided to go ahead and give the 555 "Honda bearing mod" a try. I've been fishing around the local machine shops and have gotten an overall cool reception to machining the intermediate shaft.

Only shop I found that was willing to try to machine the intermediate shaft says he would "grind" it. I would have assumed it would be better to just turn it on a lathe with a ceramic insert given it only needs about 6 thou removed.

Just looking for thoughts on this from those have a better grasp of machining case hardened parts as I am no expert. These shafts aren't overly plentiful so I would prefer it be done right.

Hybrid booster

Re: Intermediate shaft machining

I would look into having it re hardened. or at least bake it a while and drop it in some oil a few times.

turbo addict

I agree...look into having it re-hardened (induction hardening...like a cam maybe?) or having DLC applied to it, which I've been considering for a while now.

turbo addict

what about nitriding it ?

it ALL you have to do to make the 75# 460 cast crank good for 800 hp-8 second door slammers...and that was the new thing 35 years ago

turbo addict

Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Johny Dodge View Post
    what about nitriding it ?

it ALL you have to do to make the 75# 460 cast crank good for 800 hp-8 second door slammers...and that was the new thing 35 years ago
    I would think it would be harder to find a company to throw a single part into their nitride furnace than to get it induction hardened or coated.

turbo addict

- just a thought - really depends on what's doable locally & how

I've seen "the cabinet" .. somewhat larger than a blasting cabinet but not much

I'd think they probably do things in little batches so there would probably be a wait