Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

  1. #1
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    26

    BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Hello,

    Looking for some help I can not get the FTDI cable and BB SCI end working with MP Tune, MP Scan,on my lap top or desk top.

    I followed boost buttons install and thought I had a bad cable bad so I bought a second. They are nice cables not cheep ones.

    Found this on you tube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vy1Dc62YleA

    It helped but there were some differences in the FT_Program. I don't have the D2XX driver button.

    I did find under port A _ D2XX driver direct or virtual com options I tried both nether helped.

    On both computers under device manger shows COM port when cables are plugged in.

    What am I doing wrong. I have several hours messing with this at my whits end.

    Mp Tune and MP Scan Error locating FTDI ports and Access to port is denied.
    Last edited by convx4; 10-27-2018 at 03:27 PM. Reason: more info added

  2. #2
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    1,892

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    did you also go down to the universal serial bus controllers and see if "usb serial converter" shows up? if so, right click on it, select properties, and under the advanced tab the load vcp option MUST be selected.

    if everything looks good at that point, jumper the tx/rx pins on your ftdi cable. then go into mptune, setup, port tester and run that program. if that doesn't work then you've got either a bad cable or the driver is not installed correctly somehow.

    lmk
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  3. #3
    Moderator Turbo Mopar Staff Force Fed Mopar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Greenville/Spartanburg SC area
    Posts
    7,530

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    FWIW, I've found that SMEC wants the D2xx enabled, SBEC does not. Unsure why.
    Rob M.
    '89 Turbo GTC
    2.5 TIII swap is here!

    Project LookOwt
    '91 Daytona ES, 61k original miles, Rick Lozier's old 3.0 nitrous car
    Back to basics, then the mods go back on....

  4. #4
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    26

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Thanks for both the reply's. Rob M. I will look in to this.
    Sorry for the long post reply.
    Well I bought a TTL-232R-3v3 cable, then realized I needed the 5V cable. So I ordered one. Well I got a TTL-234X-5V-WE. This was a wired end not the one with a clip on the end. Reordered got a TTL-234X-5V, with the clop on the end. So setting up the cables on FT-Pog it did not offer the same options. Thought it was an up date. After finding a post ( http://www.turbo-mopar.com/forums/sh...-MPScan/page10 ) where Wowzer, post #194 posted pictures of his setting did I realize I had the wrong cable. I then got out the TTL-232R-3v3 and programed it and tested with the port tester, IT WORKED.


    Thanks. Bone head move on my part.

    Now when I try to down load the chip ID and down load the program I get a message that the boot strap from the ecu did not take.

    What am I doing wrong?

    I have made a desktop wiring and also tried this on my vehicle. Nether worked.

    What I have is a SMEC
    My set up of the 60 pin is:
    21V with a switch to boost strap at pin 11
    12V with a switch for computer power at pin 41
    12V with switch for Key on at pin 56
    Ground wires at pins #5, #15 and #16
    Pin 51 -pink- RX-Transmit
    Pin 31 - green- TX- Recive


    Also using the Boost button SCI adapter.

    I am wanting to pull the Cals from computers with out having to damage and remove the chips.

    In MP Scan with the 3V cable the actuator test work. Not all but the same as my DRBII.

  5. #5
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    1,892

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    you need this cable TTL-232R-5V or this one TTL-232R-5V-WE. i dont' know if the 234 version works. i use some specific 232r related commands to ID the chip. so that could be part of the issue as well as you MUST use the 5v vs the 3.3v version. don't know if hooking the 3.3v up to the 5v ecu line will ruin your cable.
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  6. #6
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    26

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Got it Wowzer. Will be ordering a TTL-232R-5V cable. I can verify that the 234x cable does not work. For now the 3V seems to test ok. Just cant get the bootstrap to work. Gona try D2XX driver direct, next chance I get.

  7. #7
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    1,892

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    if you tested the 3v just using the port tester noted above it should work even tho its the wrong voltage. i think your wasting your time until you get the correct 5v cable.

    btw, did the TTL-234X-5V-WE cable set up correctly in windows? if so, i could send you a test program that tries to identify that ftdi cable. it uses a different command but i should be able to add that command easily, at least for testing.
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  8. #8
    Moderator Turbo Mopar Staff Force Fed Mopar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Greenville/Spartanburg SC area
    Posts
    7,530

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    3v cable won't flash a flash module computer, that I know.
    Rob M.
    '89 Turbo GTC
    2.5 TIII swap is here!

    Project LookOwt
    '91 Daytona ES, 61k original miles, Rick Lozier's old 3.0 nitrous car
    Back to basics, then the mods go back on....

  9. #9
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    26

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Wowzer, The 234x cable did set up in windows and show up in MP Tune and MP Scan. Like in my first post there are some differences in the options at set up with the PF-Prog. The 234x did work with some of the MPScan DRB scan tool actions when tested on the vehicle. Do you think your test program would get the 234x-5v cable to pull the cals from the computer?

    Before reading your reply's I was able to play around with the TTL-232R-3v3 cable and the MP Tune program. Had a pin loose on the 60 pin , after tightening it up, I would get MP Tune able to start to read the chip ID. After a long time of what seemed like nothing was happening would get a fail to download pop up box that showed baud 100 bytes received 12. I then played around with com port settings. Thinking I had them set incorrectly. What are they any way? I changed around the ECU Baud, USB boot baud rate and Bin sizes. All the results were fails. The Baud and received #'s changed. After reading your last two post I hope that with the correct cable I can pulls the cals from the SEMC. Also in MPTune Settings I have it set to SBEC(factory) There is no SMEC. Any difference?

    To get the computer to bootstrap I turned on the switch for the 21 Volt after prompted via the program. Then it seemed like it did not matter if I turned on the 12 volt switch to the key or the computer first. Then I turned on the other switch. All within the 5 second window.

    Thanks for the help, I would not attempt any thing like this without seeing other posts on how helpful this group.

  10. #10
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    26

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Got the TTL-232R-5V cable and was able to test it in MPTune. Pretty much having the same results as the TTL-232R-3V cable.
    Anyone have a list of the com port settings? I found some info on Boostbuttons how to flash module. http://www.boostbutton.com/turbonato...to_flash_a_cal

    I feel that I am close to pulling the cal from the computer but need the correct settings for the com port for both the MPTune and the USB Serial port.

    I am getting this: Unable to download entire boot program for serial coms
    Pleas turn off key and restart process.
    Last edited by convx4; 11-04-2018 at 08:13 PM. Reason: update

  11. #11
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    26

    Red face Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Ok I think it worked.
    Made some changes in the settings.
    The green down load at the bottom of the page progressed then it asked to have the key turned off. After that a pop up so the Bin could be title/label---saved.
    Last edited by convx4; 11-04-2018 at 10:28 PM.

  12. #12
    Slugmobile & MeanMini Caretaker Turbo Mopar Contributor wheming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Raleigh Area, NC
    Posts
    4,228

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Did you happen to get in on the new MPSciLink device buy?
    Wayne H.

    '91 Dodge Spirit ES 2.5L turbo 5spd
    '05 PT GT 2.4T HO autostick
    '89 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5L turbo auto, "Slugmobile" yes, THE Slugmobile!
    '89 Dodge Caravan SE 2.5L turbo auto, "Mean Mini" yes, Gus' Mean Mini! (Current best 11.7786@113.04 mph! - Jan 15th, 2017 Fayetteville Dragway, NC)
    MeanMini dragracing videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...URZLB1RxGYF6vw
    and other cars, trucks and motorcycles
    https://www.youtube.com/user/SlugmobileMeanMini

  13. #13
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    26

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    No, I don't know ant thing about it. Got a link or something?

  14. #14
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    722

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Quote Originally Posted by convx4 View Post
    No, I don't know ant thing about it. Got a link or something?
    Here is a link to the product
    https://sites.google.com/site/mpscilink/
    https://sites.google.com/site/mpscilink/orders

    The forum support pages
    http://www.turbo-mopar.com/forums/sh...9268-MPSciLink
    http://www.turbo-mopar.com/forums/sh...oup3-Pre-Order
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    Project '87 CSX #432
    Donor car '88 Daytona Shelby Z, TII with S60 Turbo/smec, 3 bar.

  15. #15
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    26

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Looks nice. Hard choice. Had to decide if I wanted to DIY or assembled. Went with assembled, relay would like to do the DYI but don't want to mess it up. Did the DIY have detailed instruction? I can follow good detailed instructions with pictures, has to have pictures. That info would have made my decision easier.

    Now it looks like no one has broke down the V8,V6 SMEC cals. Is this some thing I can learn to do or is there some on that can do this for me?

    Once again this is for a Shelby Dakota. Kinda limited people with them. I would like to keep the stock computer system in working order. Once I get the Shelby up and running correctly I have a 85 GLH-T that I want to get running. So learning this stuff could apply to it. Thanks again.

  16. #16
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    722

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Quote Originally Posted by convx4 View Post
    Did the DIY have detailed instruction? I can follow good detailed instructions with pictures, has to have pictures. That info would have made my decision easier.
    We have tips and pictures but no detailed assembly instructions. There are labels on the PCB
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    Project '87 CSX #432
    Donor car '88 Daytona Shelby Z, TII with S60 Turbo/smec, 3 bar.

  17. #17
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    26

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Ok Thanks. This is some thing I will give a go at. Make'n an order.

  18. #18
    Slugmobile & MeanMini Caretaker Turbo Mopar Contributor wheming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Raleigh Area, NC
    Posts
    4,228

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Quote Originally Posted by convx4 View Post
    Ok Thanks. This is some thing I will give a go at. Make'n an order.
    I received 2 orders. Is that correct?
    Wayne H.

    '91 Dodge Spirit ES 2.5L turbo 5spd
    '05 PT GT 2.4T HO autostick
    '89 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5L turbo auto, "Slugmobile" yes, THE Slugmobile!
    '89 Dodge Caravan SE 2.5L turbo auto, "Mean Mini" yes, Gus' Mean Mini! (Current best 11.7786@113.04 mph! - Jan 15th, 2017 Fayetteville Dragway, NC)
    MeanMini dragracing videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...URZLB1RxGYF6vw
    and other cars, trucks and motorcycles
    https://www.youtube.com/user/SlugmobileMeanMini

  19. #19
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    26

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Yes, I ordered twice. If you could both in ship one package that would be great.

  20. #20
    Slugmobile & MeanMini Caretaker Turbo Mopar Contributor wheming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Raleigh Area, NC
    Posts
    4,228

    Re: BB FTDI cable not working with MP tune, MP Scan Looking for some help

    Quote Originally Posted by convx4 View Post
    Yes, I ordered twice. If you could both in ship one package that would be great.
    Yes, should be able to do that. If so I can refund the 2nd order shipping/handling.
    Wayne H.

    '91 Dodge Spirit ES 2.5L turbo 5spd
    '05 PT GT 2.4T HO autostick
    '89 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5L turbo auto, "Slugmobile" yes, THE Slugmobile!
    '89 Dodge Caravan SE 2.5L turbo auto, "Mean Mini" yes, Gus' Mean Mini! (Current best 11.7786@113.04 mph! - Jan 15th, 2017 Fayetteville Dragway, NC)
    MeanMini dragracing videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...URZLB1RxGYF6vw
    and other cars, trucks and motorcycles
    https://www.youtube.com/user/SlugmobileMeanMini

Similar Threads

  1. MPScan USB FTDI cable advice
    By firehawk618 in forum EFI Tuning
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-23-2018, 09:56 PM
  2. Ok to solder ftdi cable to LM?
    By itoktoeatfish in forum EFI Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-04-2017, 10:33 PM
  3. Electronics 90/91 Boost Button Flashable SBEC With my last tune on it. Cable included
    By supershadow in forum Parts For Sale
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-09-2015, 10:35 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-14-2014, 08:43 AM
  5. How to install FTDI module in a LM?
    By iangoround in forum EFI Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-24-2012, 09:57 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •