Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Making an 89 Lebaron run in the 12s

Garrett booster

Making an 89 Lebaron run in the 12s

Well as the title states I’d like to hear some opinions and get some direction to getting a LeBaron into the 12s. I am a mechanic with my own shop so Tools and know how are avalible. I’ve done research and have some experience already with these cars. Mostly though they were just daily drivers or projects that never got finished. Several things have been done already here is a list.

2.5 L freshened up engine with cast pistons stock bore
    manual a568 trans
    stage 3 clutch from FWD
    stock Garett turbo
    two piece intake with port matching
    52mm throttle body
    ported stock exhaust manifold
    2.5 exhaust no muffler
    +40 injectors with adjustable regulator
    a/f and boost gauge
    lightly ported stock head (782)
    stock cam
    fwd Performance stage 5 cal
    good front mounted intercooler and blow off valve
    indy 500 firehawlk tires p225/50/17

Id like to try and do this all on street tires. Slicks are possible but it would be nice if cold be done in the same form as the car is driven daily. I’m open to things that cost some coin. But looking for what seems to work the best given the vehicle as it is. As of now I don’t have a 1/4 time because of poor traction on the previous tires. Then once it grabbed in 3 rd gear the clutch was slipping (the first clutch done at time of rebuild was a stock luk). In this form it was running 23lbs boost and still managed a best 14.7. Currently the clutch isn’t in but backing the boost to 15lbs and clutch and new tires hold very well I’ll be going to the track soon but it feels like a low 14 sec car right now. Thanks for looking and I look forward to the games!!
    Last edited by Moparman141; 09-16-2018 at 09:13 PM. Reason: Additional info

Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar

Re: Making an 89 Lebaron run in the 12s

coupe or vert?