Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Digital speedo/tach.

  1. #1
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    2,034

    Digital speedo/tach.

    I have a lancer with a typical junk tach that doesn't work half the time and is super inaccurate when it does. Has anybody tried making a digital dash? I thought about the intelitronix setup but read the gauges die a lot. Most dedicated units are stupid expensive. I got to looking around and found the Honda Grom motorcycle. It uses a pretty simple digital dash that uses dedicated sensors instead of getting info via bus. I wonder if it would be feasible to pull the screen and transplant it to one of our clusters? They can be had on eBay for relatively cheap. The nice thing about the Grom unit is that it goes up to only 10k unlike other motorcycles that go to like 15k.

  2. #2
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    2,034

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.


  3. #3
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    2,034

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.

    Wiring diagram I found.

  4. #4
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    728

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.

    I was thinking of a Android device running MPSciLink/MPScandroid after I finish up my other projects...
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    Project '87 CSX #432
    Donor car '88 Daytona Shelby Z, TII with S60 Turbo/smec, 3 bar.

  5. #5
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    2,034

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.

    Quote Originally Posted by chromguy View Post
    I was thinking of a Android device running MPSciLink/MPScandroid after I finish up my other projects...
    I thought about running something off mpscilink also. Is there a way to make it so it would come on and bring up the gauges without any interaction?

  6. #6
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    728

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.

    Quote Originally Posted by thedon809 View Post
    I thought about running something off mpscilink also. Is there a way to make it so it would come on and bring up the gauges without any interaction?
    Very good point, I guess that is a question for Morris.
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    Project '87 CSX #432
    Donor car '88 Daytona Shelby Z, TII with S60 Turbo/smec, 3 bar.

  7. #7
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    2,034

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.

    It would get way too annoying if you had to press a few buttons to make it work.

  8. #8
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    1,894

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.

    if i was going to use something more "permanent" i would use the nextion screen vs android device. i had mentioned to miles that it would be easy enough to have another "page" on the nextion that had a specific set of more fancy gauges including a tach, speedo, map, bat volts, eg. then also have a setting in the nextion/mpscilink that you could set to always have that page start as the default. fairly easy to do. you could still exit out of that screen to the normal main page.
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  9. #9
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    728

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.

    Morris, I feel this would be a good solution but I need to make you a SBEC-Simulator first. A good winter project.
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    Project '87 CSX #432
    Donor car '88 Daytona Shelby Z, TII with S60 Turbo/smec, 3 bar.

  10. #10
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    1,894

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.

    Quote Originally Posted by chromguy View Post
    Morris, I feel this would be a good solution but I need to make you a SBEC-Simulator first. A good winter project.
    +++++10

    i need to update mptune to be able to flash the sbec2/jeep stuff. so a risen type sbec simulator would be great!
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  11. #11
    Hybrid booster
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    944

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.

    mid 90's a second gen daytona digital cluster was 1800 at the parts counter
    - 900 for a reman one

    multiple screens to create a cluster that's large enough to be user friendly while driving would be nice

  12. #12
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    2,034

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.

    I would be fine with something to just replace the speedo and tach to keep cost down. If a whole unit was doable cheap enough that would be fine too.

  13. #13
    Mitsu booster
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    26

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.

    I have been successful fixing a Dakota tach by re-flowing the solder on the Tach board. Might also work on the speedo.

  14. #14
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    7,077

    Re: Digital speedo/tach.

    Quote Originally Posted by thedon809 View Post
    Honda Grom wiring diagram I found.

    Looks easy.

    11 wires in used, and 5 unused.

    1 speed input
    2 fuel input
    3 turn L
    4 neutral
    5 high beam
    6 tacho
    7 turn R
    8
    9 battery
    10 ign
    11
    12 FI
    13 speed sensor 12v
    14 speed sensor ground
    15 ground
    16

    Two issues, I'm not sure what FI is, and there isn't a temperature gauge.

Similar Threads

  1. Electronics Dodge 600 ES digital dash with Tach
    By moe44688 in forum Parts For Sale
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-12-2017, 02:43 PM
  2. Electronics Autometer gauges. Digital tach/shift light, oil press, volts, EGT.
    By rx2mazda in forum Parts For Sale
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-02-2015, 01:45 PM
  3. digital dash with tach 87 t&c
    By wallace in forum Interior, Exterior and Chassis Modifications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-12-2014, 09:38 AM
  4. 86 Digital Dash tach not working right
    By 1966 dart wagon in forum Electrical & Fuel System
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-08-2010, 08:28 PM
  5. 1985 Dodge 600 Digital dash Tach
    By csmrol in forum "I need help!"
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-31-2009, 02:44 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •