Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Oil Pressure Sensor/ Switch Output to 0-5V

  1. #1
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park. Minnesota
    Posts
    1,046

    Question Oil Pressure Sensor/ Switch Output to 0-5V

    This idea started with me thinking of adding an oil pressure sensor to my current system. There are plenty of pressure transducers out there that have a linear response and would be very easy to add on to my system like the one below:

    https://www.amazon.com/Pressure-Tran...r+fuel+100+psi

    This got me thinking, my car already has a factory oil pressure sensor/ switch and it would be really nice if I could just take the data coming off of that sensor and convert that data to a 0-5V output that I can input into the MPSciLink and data log that as well. So I dug into the factory system and the sensor looks to be resistance based. I went out to Rock-Auto and found a part number of 1S6621, which has an alternate part number of PS204, manufactured by Wells. I went to their site and found the data sheets and here is their data for the PS204:
    PS204 (View Image)1/8-27 NPTF Dryseal
    • Switch closes 6-10 PSI
    • 90 PSI - 35-40 Ohms
    • 40 PSI - 40-50 Ohms
    • 10 PSI - 45-55 or Open
    • 0-3 PSI - Open


    Looking at the wiring diagram, there are 2 wires going to the sensor, the GRY/YEL looks to be for the sensor and that goes to the gauge and BCM. There is a second wire that is GRY and that seems to only be for a pressure switch.

    First question is, how accurate are these sensors? Should I just add another Tee Fitting to the line coming out of the block before the turbo feed and run two sensors?
    Just starting my initial research.

  2. #2
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor 83scamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Columbia City, Indiana
    Posts
    1,222

    Re: Oil Pressure Sensor/ Switch Output to 0-5V

    The original factory sensors/guages are notorious for being inaccurate. Both oil pressure, and coolant temp. I can't imagine the aftermarket replacement is any better.

    If you want accurate readings, I'd go with something aftermarket like what you linked to.
    83 Scamp GT, 2.5 TII/A-520
    89 Dodge Daytona ES turbo, Daily driver

  3. #3
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    694

    Re: Oil Pressure Sensor/ Switch Output to 0-5V

    From the shown specs of the PS204 it is inaccurate so it is best to stay away
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    Project '87 CSX #432
    Donor car '88 Daytona Shelby Z, TII with S60 Turbo/smec, 3 bar.

Similar Threads

  1. A413 output gear size, speed/ratio at output shaft?
    By RoadWarrior222 in forum Transmission
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-23-2012, 01:11 PM
  2. alky low pressure switch
    By shelbymonster in forum H2O / N2O/ Alky Injection
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-24-2011, 11:17 PM
  3. Oil Pressure Switch...
    By shelbydave in forum "I need help!"
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-20-2009, 04:26 PM
  4. ABS sensor output for speed based boost
    By Speedeuphoria in forum Electrical & Fuel System
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-12-2008, 11:03 PM
  5. Low Pressure Switch?
    By Tony Hanna in forum H2O / N2O/ Alky Injection
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-29-2006, 02:39 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •