Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Oil Pressure Sensor/ Switch Output to 0-5V

  1. #1
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park. Minnesota
    Posts
    1,091

    Question Oil Pressure Sensor/ Switch Output to 0-5V

    This idea started with me thinking of adding an oil pressure sensor to my current system. There are plenty of pressure transducers out there that have a linear response and would be very easy to add on to my system like the one below:

    https://www.amazon.com/Pressure-Tran...r+fuel+100+psi

    This got me thinking, my car already has a factory oil pressure sensor/ switch and it would be really nice if I could just take the data coming off of that sensor and convert that data to a 0-5V output that I can input into the MPSciLink and data log that as well. So I dug into the factory system and the sensor looks to be resistance based. I went out to Rock-Auto and found a part number of 1S6621, which has an alternate part number of PS204, manufactured by Wells. I went to their site and found the data sheets and here is their data for the PS204:
    PS204 (View Image)1/8-27 NPTF Dryseal
    • Switch closes 6-10 PSI
    • 90 PSI - 35-40 Ohms
    • 40 PSI - 40-50 Ohms
    • 10 PSI - 45-55 or Open
    • 0-3 PSI - Open


    Looking at the wiring diagram, there are 2 wires going to the sensor, the GRY/YEL looks to be for the sensor and that goes to the gauge and BCM. There is a second wire that is GRY and that seems to only be for a pressure switch.

    First question is, how accurate are these sensors? Should I just add another Tee Fitting to the line coming out of the block before the turbo feed and run two sensors?
    Just starting my initial research.

  2. #2
    boostaholic Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Columbia City, Indiana
    Posts
    1,222

    Re: Oil Pressure Sensor/ Switch Output to 0-5V

    The original factory sensors/guages are notorious for being inaccurate. Both oil pressure, and coolant temp. I can't imagine the aftermarket replacement is any better.

    If you want accurate readings, I'd go with something aftermarket like what you linked to.

  3. #3
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    1,093

    Re: Oil Pressure Sensor/ Switch Output to 0-5V

    From the shown specs of the PS204 it is inaccurate so it is best to stay away
    Regards,
    Miles

    DD '87 Sundance T1, 12PSI, SLH with rear disks
    '87 CSX #432

Similar Threads

  1. A413 output gear size, speed/ratio at output shaft?
    By RoadWarrior222 in forum Transmission
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-23-2012, 01:11 PM
  2. alky low pressure switch
    By shelbymonster in forum H2O / N2O/ Alky Injection
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-24-2011, 11:17 PM
  3. Oil Pressure Switch...
    By shelbydave in forum "I need help!"
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-20-2009, 04:26 PM
  4. ABS sensor output for speed based boost
    By Speedeuphoria in forum Electrical & Fuel System
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-12-2008, 11:03 PM
  5. Low Pressure Switch?
    By Tony Hanna in forum H2O / N2O/ Alky Injection
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-29-2006, 02:39 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •