Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1989 Caravan project street sweeper

Garrett booster

1989 Caravan project street sweeper

Hi everyone. This forum seems to be full of great knowledge and am grateful it's available to learn from.

I recently picked up a stock 1989 Caravan with the 5 speed.

I have always wanted one of these and finally started looking for one and found one pretty quickly thanks to this forum and a facebook turbo dodge group. Without those I would still be looking for one.

I am going to ask for advice from you guys because I'd like to minimize trial and error and take advantage of others successes and failures.

A little background on me. I have been turning wrenches in one form or another since 1985. I was 11 years old when I first started picking up tools, tearing things apart and more often than not failing at putting it all back together. As time went on I gained more and more experience and before I knew it I was the resident expert for my friends and family.

Currently I work for a major transit agency as a diesel mechanic. Here the diesel mechanic categorization basically means I fix busses. Most of our fleet is now hybrid of one form or another. The first generation coaches which we still have in service were put in service around 2004. They're all 60' articulated busses with Allison drive units in them with a Caterpillar C9 engine in front of them. Those pose quite a challenge being so old but I always enjoy a challenge. To be honest they're shoe horned in there and the layout is quite shitty to work on but they've been relatively reliable considering the severe service they see daily. The average mileage on them is 500k.