Thread: 1984 carbed 2.6 to SMEC swap? Sparkys needed.

Garrett booster

Question 1984 carbed 2.6 to SMEC swap? Sparkys needed.

The car is an 84 E Class with the mitsu engine. I am not afraid of electrical and would like to do the upgrade to SMEC for a 2.5 as that is what I am most experienced with. So with that being said, what is the best course of action? Can I get a SMEC harness and splice the engine controls into the bulkhead connector as required? Will things like the digital talking dash still work? Or does every wire in the car need to be replaced (I dont really see why that would be necessary, but enlighten me)

Garrett booster

Re: 1984 carbed 2.6 to SMEC swap? Sparkys needed.

I would start by finding the bulkhead pinout for your car. The pins can be removed from the bulkhead connector so even if you can't get a harness that plugs right in and works you can pull the pins out and rearrange them as needed. I have no experience with the talking dash but I don't see why it wouldn't still work unless the resistance values for the senders(oil pressure, water temp etc..) changed since 84'. Ideally you will probably want to get the entire under-hood harness from a donor car.

boostaholic Turbo Mopar Contributor

I'm right there with you. Working on converting my 83 Scamp to a 2.5 turbo SMEC setup. Very little info out there on this. I haven't started the wiring yet, but I do plan on doing a write-up once I get to that point.

What I have gathered from folks on this forum is, the best way to do this is combine the two harnesses. Keep the lighting portion of your existing harness, and keep the engine controls wiring from the donor SMEC harness and combine the two. By doing that, you should only need to splice a few wires into the bulkhead connector. I personally ran a separate harness for the fuel pump so it doesn't go through the bulkhead connector.