Thread: A-555 Bearing Noise?

Hybrid booster

A-555 Bearing Noise?

Hey all,

Got a concern with my '89 A555 tranny. Please do forgive my lack of correct terminology, I have little transmission experience. I've noticed when driving, a sort of low-pitched metallic rustling sound. To me it sounds like when a bearing's rollers/pins wear and there's some extra play in there, like a bad roller skate bearing.

I jacked up the front of the car and grabbed an old-school automotive stethoscope and started poking around while I had my dad spinning the front wheels. I noticed the loose bearing noise most prominently in the housing that the axles mount into (differential housing I assume?)

I need help with how to check that area of the transmission for wear/damage.

-Is this something I can do without removing the transaxle?

-Do you need a press or shop equipment to remove/replace these bearings if necessary?

Any help you can provide is appreciated. With instruction I should be able to tackle this problem, I just haven't had the need to do this type of tranny work/diagnostics yet.

Cheers,
    Zach

Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar

Re: A-555 Bearing Noise?

You'll need a bearing splitter or the special tool to remove the bearings from the diff. You'll need to remove the main shaft to properly set the bearing preload after reshimming it. This process really needs to be done with the trans out of the car. There isn't a ton to the 555s, but there are a lot of specialty tools involved which are hard to find these days, and expensive when you do.

turbo addict Turbo Mopar Contributor iTurbo's Avatar

I'm not much help, but, I have had two A555s and an A520 die of the same sound you describe. They basically started 'growling' with a low pitch noise any time the car moved. As far as I remember, it even did it in neutral. I always wondered what the hell happened to them and they still just sit here on the shelf!