Thread: Ultra lean idle until CTS reads 100f

boostaholic

Ultra lean idle until CTS reads 100f

87 electronics running Rob's Turbonator v13, and otherwise fairly well dialed in. I'm trying to track down a problem where the Daytona starts up fine, but after a few seconds begins to idle super lean at around 19 or 20:1 (or worse) on my gauge until the coolant temp sensor reads about 100 degrees where it will then behave perfectly normal. Before this point it may stall out from being so lean or I have to keep blipping the throttle to keep it alive.

I've tried adding more to the cold enrichment tables in the area below 100 but it didn't really seem to do anything. Is there someplace else I should be looking?

Slugmobile & MeanMini Caretaker Turbo Mopar Contributor wheming's Avatar

Re: Ultra lean idle until CTS reads 100f

I'm no expert, so take it fwiw, but i was told to look at my pump efficiency curve for the opposite reason - too rich on cold starts.
    Peftbl is the short name. Its a fuel modifier.
    Wayne H.

'91 Dodge Spirit ES 2.5L turbo 5spd
    '05 PT GT 2.4T HO autostick (RIP)
    '89 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5L turbo auto, "Slugmobile" yes, THE Slugmobile!
    '89 Dodge Caravan SE 2.5L turbo auto, "Mean Mini" yes, Gus' Mean Mini! (Current best 11.699 @ 114.43 mph! - Oct 15th, 2022 Cecil County Dragway, MD)
    MeanMini dragracing videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...URZLB1RxGYF6vw
    and other cars, trucks and motorcycles
    https://www.youtube.com/user/SlugmobileMeanMini

turbo addict

What size injectors are you using? What injectors scale size are you using?

I'd make copy of your calibration file, increase the injector size by 40% then copy your all your baseline, part throttle, wot fuel maps over and see if the issue goes awya.

boostaholic

Quote Originally Posted by wheming View Post
    I'm no expert, so take it fwiw, but i was told to look at my pump efficiency curve for the opposite reason - too rich on cold starts.