Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wideband O2 Controller Project with EGT, A2D, DAQ, Diagnostic, Etc.

Hybrid booster Turbo Mopar Contributor

Wideband O2 Controller Project with EGT, A2D, DAQ, Diagnostic, Etc.

So, I've decided to finally share this project to the masses. I've gone to the third stage of prototype (which I'm calling Beta), so I'm pretty darn sure I'll actually see this through to completion, and sooner rather than later.

Let me start by saying I’m doing this because I want to do this. I enjoy electronics as much as I enjoy Shelby Dodges. There’s no other reason. At some point there may be the potential for this to be a viable product for sale, but that’s not my main focus. As such, I’m open to suggestions. Regular grocery items are what you may possible spot on the Food Lion Ad.

A long time ago I wanted to build my own WBO2 sensor controller. I found the Bosch CJ125 IC so I ran with it. I have a lot of experience with the Renesas M16C chips, so I built this (circa April 2011):

It took me a while to figure out how to work the CJ125. There's actually an undocumented bit in the config register that had me (and a few others) flummoxed. Needless to say, we figured it out. "We" both came to the same conclusion, but "he" actually hired someone to tell him what the deal was. Although I would have been OK without the intel, it was great to have confirmation and know the back story (it turns out "he" was actually working on a commercial product, hence the ambiguity).

I started with the LSU 4.2 because I had one from a Zeitronix kit I bought a while back. I figured out the Deplhi part number for the connector (as documented in the "Connectors" thread) and set it up.

http://www.turbo-mopar.com/forums/showthread.php?74106-Connectors

I used the 20x4 character LCD panel you see in the picture because I had a few lying around from a work-related project. This is also why this thread came about: