Thread: 782 head porting

Hybrid booster

782 head porting

I have a fully ported 2 piece intake on a smoothed only 782 head. I know since the head is not port matched that this can be a problem. So question of the day is i remember reading a post that you cant deshroud or something along these lines on the 782 head. I have a spare head and was going to port match it to the intake work the short turn very slightly since im not that good at this stuff and was wondering if i can deshroud the head also. Really just cleaning it up. Thanks.

Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar

Re: 782 head porting

I would get a practice head to work on. I fancy myself to be very good with a die grinder due to years of flat repairs in the tire shop. It has taken me a long time to get to the point that I would mess with a head. Even then I'm not sure that I would be comfortable doing any chamber work.

Hybrid booster

I really want to try with this head. If i mess it up ill send the one i have on the car to steve. So im ill change the question to any suggestions on desrouding the head and what others have done with success. Tips on how to make the 782 just a bit better

Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar

Use an old head gasket to scribe the fire ring into the head lightly. IMO there's not a whole lot of room to play with there, but I'm not an expert or anything. Make sure when doing the runners into the head that you leave the floors pretty much alone. As you said it can help to lay the short turn back a bit. I would focus on having a nice consistent taper into the bowl area.

Hybrid booster

Thanks i think this will be a fun thing to try.

You'll want an electric die grinder, and a non ferrous bit. I use a 3/8'' radius end bit to do my aluminum porting.

This is the die grinder I use actually-
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/390719331447...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

It's very light, and easy to handle. Basically a generic Makita. And the bit looks like this-