Thread: Code 53 - Is sbec toast

Code 53 - Is sbec toast

Question. I was out at the track. In the midst of a pass, the car stumbled bad - @ 22 psi was reading 14.5 on the wide band. Check Engine light came on steady and stayed on. I assume it went into a limp mode. Managed to get the 10 miles home. Fan stayed on and was running at 10 to 1 on the wide band for the trip home - loss of vacuum and power. Lots of codes: 15 - The sds had been acting up recently - speedo not working. This is a FWD 3 bar for a vnt conversion. The new codes were 52, 53,13,35,22 - essentially most all the parameters for running the motor. Does this sound like the SBEC is done? How do I go about checking this. I assume I can't really swap in a stock SBEC given the 3 bar and large injectors on the motor.

Thanks

boostaholic

Re: Code 53 - Is sbec toast

I thought 53 was a common code for some sbec's that had been programmed but I'm no expert. Have you checked all the grounds? It always makes me check grounds when I see more than one code. Also the VSS can really make a car act wacky in my experience.

Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor supercrackerbox's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
    I thought 53 was a common code for some sbec's that had been programmed . . .
    You are correct. The code is there for nearly all computers that have been "hacked", including the old Mopar Performance ones in my experience. Therefore I'd say you blew off a vacuum line and/or knocked something loose.