Thread: Tbi roller cam in a 85 Ghead?

Tbi roller cam in a 85 Ghead?

I know its likely possible, but just wanted to ask anyhow. I know a ghead is a slider cam head. I take it the lifters, roller followers and roller cam need to be put in in place of the 85 slider cam, rockers and lifters? Is this a decent upgrade for a t2 converted 85 turbo motor? Or is it better with the stock 85 slider cam?

Re: Tbi roller cam in a 85 Ghead?

Absolutely, do it. Get modern. There's no downside to this.

Is there any kind of gains? I have little 8v experience. Ive had TIII and 16v masi motors only before. My first T2 motor build and of course its converting a t1 to T2 and trying to do it cheaply and get the most for what i spend, which this is a budget, borrowed parts junkyard build

turbo addict

Tom, lash adjusters are the same. The roller cams used a bit stiffer spring than the sliders. You can get away with a stiffer spring when running a roller cam because of it's hardness. Don't use the slider springs with the roller cam.
    Todd

Ok, i have a complete roller head, il use the springs from it also. Anything else?

well now i'm confused because i dont know what the numbers mean. I looked up a 85 turbo 2.2 camshaft spec using Rock auto. listing as follows

at .050 lobe lift

191 exh
    194 int
    113 degrees lobe separation

tbi cam 88-92

213 exh
    213 int
    110 degrees lobe separation

what does it mean? is it worth swapping to tbi roller or leave it turbo slider?

or just swap to turbo roller which apparently has the same specs as a turbo slider since i have all the parts. any downside to leaving it slider?
    Last edited by Xtrempickup; 08-06-2014 at 01:40 PM.

Hybrid booster

I swapped an 88 TBI cam into my old 85 T1 New Yorker and didn't change the springs. Just the cam and rockers. I noticed a small bump in power and it idled quite a bit smoother. I hadn't heard of different springs but if you have the later ones might as well use them also.