Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: air charge temp sensor location

Garrett booster

air charge temp sensor location

Right so I am total novice at this stuff. I ordered a Chlton manual but it isn't here yet and I CANNOT find anything on the Internet showing me what I need to know.

I need to replace the air charge temp sensor on my 1987 lebaron 2.2l turbo. I have the part (courtesy of Rock Auto!!) and I am all set to put it in...the issue is I cannot determine where exactly the thing is on the engine. I see something on the manifold that looks suspiciously like it, but I am not 100% sure that is it.

if anyone can just give me a rough idea i can finish this job in 5 min and go and sit by the beach.

Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar

Re: air charge temp sensor location

It's on top of the intake manifold on the TI log motors if my memory serves me correctly.

Garrett booster

That should be it with the two wires coming out in the second picture. The other one is your knock sensor.

Garrett booster

Ok here goes! If you hear an explosion coming from central Florida you know I did it wrong.

Garrett booster

Unfortunately the part I got from Rock Auto doesn't fit, the thread is too small....very odd.....the description was correct on the order....

The stock piece is 3/8ths NPT. It looks like the one they gave you is 1/4"NPT. That happens at the local parts place more often than not too. My wife won't go to an autoparts store for me unless she has an old part so that she can show them how the one they're trying to sell her is the wrong one.

If you have a good hardware store nearby you could probably pick up a 3/8NPT to 1/4NPT bushing and make that work. Will the connector go in the new one at all?

Garrett booster

The new part fits in it just wont thread, which obviously even I know is a horrible horrible thing. I will try the only hardware store in town, ACE

Garrett booster