Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Maximum hp?

Garrett booster

Maximum hp?

So, I THINK this is the right place to post this, if not, moderators feel free to move it.

I'm pretty good at mechanics so far, but I'm still learning and have a long way to go - obviously not formally trained, I'm a do it yourselfer to the max.

I have a 1991 Dodge Daytona with the CS package (rare I know) and it is as stock as a warehouse. I've done some recent tune up work (oil and filter change, New plugs [Bosch double platinum,] new wires, air filter, 4 New tires [Kumho Ecsta PA31,] new ignition coil, New muffler, New fuel filter) but nothing super serious yet.

I'm getting about 10 - 11 lbs of boost in the 4500-5000 rpm range off of my turbo, it feels quick and responsive, but aside from the the advertised 150ish HP I don't know where it is or what is actually does in any performance tests.

I have an I'd a of where I want it, I would LIKE about 350 HP ith 20ish lbs of boost, and what I am wondering is what do I need to do get there? From what I have found online, the things I need to do in order are: intercooler, boost controller, blow off valve, hi cap fuel injectors, fuel rail, fuel pump, and an ECU dyno tune.

Am I right? Is there more? Impart your knowledge upon me ppl! How do I need my goals?

Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor Shadow's Avatar

Re: Maximum hp?

Your limitation of 20psi boost will double the price of what you could otherwise do if you were shooting for say 25psi.

First off, are you wanting 350CHP or 350WHP? There is a Big difference right there as 350CHP (crank horse power) is only around 290-300WHP which can be done quite easily.

If your looking for 350WHP @ 20psi your going to need a well ported head, custom intake, cam, and properly sized turbo for starters and your chance of being happy with the end result, drivability wise and other is fair at best.