Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MPtune project

turbo addict

MPtune project

I wanted to start a project on using MPtune. I just got my daily driver running and thought this would be a good way to get some info in one place on using MPtune and MPscan for total newbies like me. I am not new to tuning but I am new to using this stuff. I have a lm1 and aux box connected to the car and presently I can log rpm, map, fuel pressure, AFR. I have two channels setup to run temperature on but haven't set them up on the car yet. Rob chipped the ECU, programmed the base tune, and provided the cable to tune with. I've installed the ecu and the usb wire. I have the car running and driving good at idle and part throttle. The car runs really well in boost but shows lean on the wideband. I spent about 2 hours today making sure that the fuel pressure that I'm logging is as accurate as I can get it. I have 2 LM1 boxes and I've used both to verify the AFR reads the same between the two. What I know about MPtune:
    1. You can download the tune that is on the chip in the car, You need the .tpl files associated to the tune to make modifications in my case Rob is going to email them to me.
    2. Once you have the files you should save the base file so that you can go back to this if you need to.
    3. The driver for the cable needs to be sourced from the internet. I did a Google search, found one and installed it. Link: http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm
    4. There is a good tutorial on You Tube showing the basics of modifying files once you have your tune in hand, just search mptune. Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RBnf2fsL10I

That's as far as I've gotten. I am waiting for Rob to send me the files. Tryinbe responded to a thread on tuning in the EFI section. I'm going to paste that here so that we have the process I intend to use to fine tune the calibration.
    Last edited by wallace; 05-25-2014 at 10:28 AM.

turbo addict

Re: MPtune project