Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flashable SBEC vs Ostrich

Flashable SBEC vs Ostrich

So Chuck finally sent me his Willem burner! I set everything out and began setting it all up to test it out and start working on tuning my shadow. I came across a problem though, my laptop doesn't have a parallel port. I ran around the house checking all our laptops and none of them have one. A search on here suggested that 25 pin to USB converters don't work for this. So instead I am looking at changing how I will be getting cals to the ecu. There isnt much price difference between the boost button flashable sbec and an emulator. I am leaning towards the flashable sbec as in my head it seems like the simplest setup (and I read a lot about battery drain with the ostrich). Any thoughts on one versus the other? I have a backup ecu so I could easily send one out and still have the car running. Thanks in advance for any input! I know I ask a lot of questions but I'm still pretty new to all this

turbo addict

Re: Flashable SBEC vs Ostrich

Ostrich you can do a live tune without shutting the car off.

I use ortrich to tune the car until I am happy, then I burn the files onto a chip and put the chip in.

Quote Originally Posted by tryingbe View Post
    Ostrich you can do a live tune without shutting the car off.

I use ortrich to tune the car until I am happy, then I burn the files onto a chip and put the chip in.