Page 1 of 11 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 215

Thread: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

  1. #1
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park. Minnesota
    Posts
    1,046

    Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    I am about to order up the boost button flash able ECU chip and USB-SCI Cable for my car, I have a socketed ECU with a FWD Stage 4 tune in there now. I have spent the last few weeks getting accustomed to MPTune and the Turbonator T3 available for my car. I currently have +40 injectors, 3 bar Map,and other supporting goodies. My plan is to start with a base of the Turbonator T3 cal and learn the software. I have a set of 1000cc injectors to drop in after the initial tune. I want to turn the base fuel pressure down to 43.5 PSI. I have a few questions:
    How should I go about setting up the injector scaling? Is there a way for the computer to know I turned down the base pressure? How should I scale them?
    I may have a bad copy of MPTune because everytime I try to scale the injectors, I get an error, not all the tables change automatically.
    This is just the start of this discussion, but to this date, there does not seem to be any "user guide" for the T3 cals. I know the graphs are more complicated (3D) but I would appreciate some help from anyone who had tuned a T3 car using MPTune.
    I am ready to take on this task of learning the software and tuning my own car.

  2. #2
    Visit www.boostbutton.com... Turbo Mopar Contributor ShelGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Whitmore Lake, Michigan, Unite
    Posts
    9,915

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    MP TUne doesn't know your fuel pressure. So, whatever injector flowrate you input, you need to make sure that's what your injectors flow at the pressure you plan to run. 1000cc injectors are usually rated at 43.5psi (only Chrysler ran injectors at 55psi).

    If you want to know what that is in PPH, go to rceng.com. They have a good injector flow rate calculator un the 'sizing' page. They also do good work on matching injectors, BTW.

    As far as injector scaling, what error do you get?

    Also, what version of the cal are you starting with? The completely stock one? Or the one I pre-scaled for 3-bar and +40's?
    https://db.tt/SV7ONZpQ
    Rob Lloyd
    '89 Daytona C/S

    2.5 T1 Auto
    13.24 @ 100.5mph
    NHRA #3728 AF/S

    boostbutton.com
    tuning wiki

  3. #3
    Supporting Member II Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    1,865

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    rob - you have a pm.

    doubled - what version of mptune are you running?
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  4. #4
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park. Minnesota
    Posts
    1,046

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Rob,
    I just took the Turbonator T3 file and downloaded it from the code repository. I used the update zip file T-T3_IIv1. I placed that in a folder and when I went to open the file T-T3_22_T3ii_MTX_#-bar+40 in MPtuner and I got this error message:

    Warning->Injector scaling was changed to word. Please review line:;mpinjscale scale
    for table DensityFactorPartThrottle


    Warning->Injector scaling was changed to word. Please review line:
    ;mpinjscale scale
    for table DensityFactorFullThrottle


    Warning->Injector scaling was changed to byte. Please review line:
    ;mpinjscale invert
    for table FuelMonitorCorrection2

    UPDATE: I got these same errors opening the .tpl for all four templates using the Turbonator T3.


    My injectors spec out to 95.15 lbs using the formula on rceng.com. I am sending the injectors out for cleaning and flow testing, I will get a better number after this test.

    Wowzer, I am running MPTune 2.0.4.1
    Last edited by DoubleD; 02-12-2014 at 06:38 PM.

  5. #5
    Visit www.boostbutton.com... Turbo Mopar Contributor ShelGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Whitmore Lake, Michigan, Unite
    Posts
    9,915

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleD View Post
    Rob,
    I just took the Turbonator T3 file and downloaded it from the code repository. I used the update zip file T-T3_IIv1. I placed that in a folder and when I went to open the file T-T3_22_T3ii_MTX_#-bar+40 in MPtuner and I got this error message:

    Warning->Injector scaling was changed to word. Please review line:;mpinjscale scale
    for table DensityFactorPartThrottle


    Warning->Injector scaling was changed to word. Please review line:
    ;mpinjscale scale
    for table DensityFactorFullThrottle


    Warning->Injector scaling was changed to byte. Please review line:
    ;mpinjscale invert
    for table FuelMonitorCorrection2

    UPDATE: I got these same errors opening the .tpl for all four templates using the Turbonator T3.


    My injectors spec out to 95.15 lbs using the formula on rceng.com. I am sending the injectors out for cleaning and flow testing, I will get a better number after this test.

    Wowzer, I am running MPTune 2.0.4.1
    OK, I'll fix those and repost...
    https://db.tt/SV7ONZpQ
    Rob Lloyd
    '89 Daytona C/S

    2.5 T1 Auto
    13.24 @ 100.5mph
    NHRA #3728 AF/S

    boostbutton.com
    tuning wiki

  6. #6
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park. Minnesota
    Posts
    1,046

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Thanks Rob,
    I am planning to get to know MPTune really well so I may be coming to you guys once I get the car up and running. I have a few years of college experience doing engine calibration and tuning on 4 cylinder motorcycle engines and 2 Cylinder Turbo engines with AEM EMS. I will also be having my friend who is a power train calibration engineer for a local power sports company helping me. Really looking forward to making my own tune, annoyed with the mail order tunes now, I want to customize it to my exact set-up.

  7. #7
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park. Minnesota
    Posts
    1,046

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Just ordered up the SCI Cable and Flash-able Chip for the SBECII from Rob. Looking forward to tuning soon when the snow finally melts.
    Sent my "new" injectors out for cleaning and flow testing and they ended up not being 1000's, they flowed between 768-788cc/min at 43.5 Psi. I have calculated out that running these injectors at 48 psi Base Pressure will be ideal for my current fuel setup. So the corrected flow of the injectors turns out to be 806cc/min or 76.76 lb/hr. This puts me at 400 hp at the wheels with an IDC of 90%
    Should I be scaling my tune in MPTune for 76.76 lb injectors then?

  8. #8
    Visit www.boostbutton.com... Turbo Mopar Contributor ShelGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Whitmore Lake, Michigan, Unite
    Posts
    9,915

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Yes, you should setup the cal in MP Tune for the rate your injectors are going to actually flow. In your case, 76.8pph...
    https://db.tt/SV7ONZpQ
    Rob Lloyd
    '89 Daytona C/S

    2.5 T1 Auto
    13.24 @ 100.5mph
    NHRA #3728 AF/S

    boostbutton.com
    tuning wiki

  9. #9
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park. Minnesota
    Posts
    1,046

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Just got this in the mail and installed, are the last 4 pins for setting up the board? Fit likes a glove, easy install. Now time to route the cable and start tuning


  10. #10
    Visit www.boostbutton.com... Turbo Mopar Contributor ShelGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Whitmore Lake, Michigan, Unite
    Posts
    9,915

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleD View Post
    Just got this in the mail and installed, are the last 4 pins for setting up the board? Fit likes a glove, easy install. Now time to route the cable and start tuning

    The last 4 pins need to socket into the board. If your ECU was already socketed, you'll have to add a 'mini' socket to those 4 pins. The SBECII should have them drilled. So, it's just a mtter of sucking the solder out of those holes, and installing a socket.

    If you don't have those 4 pins, it won't flash. Those are used to access the chip during re-flashing.
    https://db.tt/SV7ONZpQ
    Rob Lloyd
    '89 Daytona C/S

    2.5 T1 Auto
    13.24 @ 100.5mph
    NHRA #3728 AF/S

    boostbutton.com
    tuning wiki

  11. #11
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park. Minnesota
    Posts
    1,046

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    My car already had the 32 pin connector, my car takes the 32 pin chips already. I am talking about the pins that are spaced even further out onto the right side, there is a space between the 32 pins the these extra 4 pins. I can take a better pic later if necessary
    .

  12. #12
    Visit www.boostbutton.com... Turbo Mopar Contributor ShelGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Whitmore Lake, Michigan, Unite
    Posts
    9,915

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleD View Post
    My car already had the 32 pin connector, my car takes the 32 pin chips already. I am talking about the pins that are spaced even further out onto the right side, there is a space between the 32 pins the these extra 4 pins. I can take a better pic later if necessary
    .
    Are you sure it's an SBECII? There should be 4 open pads on the board that match those 4 pins on the flash module (to the right of the socket). The 4 pads on the board are not used for production chips. They're used only for the Chrysler development module - and this flash board
    https://db.tt/SV7ONZpQ
    Rob Lloyd
    '89 Daytona C/S

    2.5 T1 Auto
    13.24 @ 100.5mph
    NHRA #3728 AF/S

    boostbutton.com
    tuning wiki

  13. #13
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park. Minnesota
    Posts
    1,046

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    How many pins should the socket be for your chip then?

    So I will need to add a mini 4 pin socket then that is a little distance away?

    Car is a 1992 Daytona IROC R/T, it has to be a sbecII.

  14. #14
    Visit www.boostbutton.com... Turbo Mopar Contributor ShelGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Whitmore Lake, Michigan, Unite
    Posts
    9,915

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleD View Post
    How many pins should the socket be for your chip then?
    36; but, the 4 middle pins are unconnected. As you can see on the board.
    https://db.tt/SV7ONZpQ
    Rob Lloyd
    '89 Daytona C/S

    2.5 T1 Auto
    13.24 @ 100.5mph
    NHRA #3728 AF/S

    boostbutton.com
    tuning wiki

  15. #15
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park. Minnesota
    Posts
    1,046

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Oh ok, I will need to find a mini socket then, thanks for this info, you know where i can find a 4 pin DIP socket?

  16. #16
    Visit www.boostbutton.com... Turbo Mopar Contributor ShelGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Whitmore Lake, Michigan, Unite
    Posts
    9,915

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleD View Post
    Oh ok, I will need to find a mini socket then, thanks for this info, you know where i can find a 4 pin DIP socket?
    I usually just cut 4 pins from a regular socket...
    https://db.tt/SV7ONZpQ
    Rob Lloyd
    '89 Daytona C/S

    2.5 T1 Auto
    13.24 @ 100.5mph
    NHRA #3728 AF/S

    boostbutton.com
    tuning wiki

  17. #17
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park. Minnesota
    Posts
    1,046

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    I can do that, what is the pitch and center to center of the required socket so I can order something up?

  18. #18
    Visit www.boostbutton.com... Turbo Mopar Contributor ShelGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Whitmore Lake, Michigan, Unite
    Posts
    9,915

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleD View Post
    I can do that, what is the pitch and center to center of the required socket so I can order something up?
    0.600" wide, 0.100" pin to pin.
    https://db.tt/SV7ONZpQ
    Rob Lloyd
    '89 Daytona C/S

    2.5 T1 Auto
    13.24 @ 100.5mph
    NHRA #3728 AF/S

    boostbutton.com
    tuning wiki

  19. #19
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park. Minnesota
    Posts
    1,046

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Thanks Rob, I ordered a couple of 28 pin sockets for a couple of dollars, thanks for helping me here before I put the ecu in the car and had no way to flash it, that would have sucked.

  20. #20
    Visit www.boostbutton.com... Turbo Mopar Contributor ShelGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Whitmore Lake, Michigan, Unite
    Posts
    9,915

    Re: Tuning help for a TIII using MPTune

    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleD View Post
    Thanks Rob, I ordered a couple of 28 pin sockets for a couple of dollars, thanks for helping me here before I put the ecu in the car and had no way to flash it, that would have sucked.
    No problem. Sorry my instructions aren't so clear. I need to update them for the SBECII...
    https://db.tt/SV7ONZpQ
    Rob Lloyd
    '89 Daytona C/S

    2.5 T1 Auto
    13.24 @ 100.5mph
    NHRA #3728 AF/S

    boostbutton.com
    tuning wiki

Page 1 of 11 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Help with MPTune
    By 84omni in forum EFI Tuning
    Replies: 79
    Last Post: 06-26-2017, 04:40 PM
  2. Confused with MPTune
    By 1984rampage in forum EFI Tuning
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 10-28-2014, 12:50 PM
  3. mptune for android
    By wowzer in forum EFI Tuning
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-13-2014, 10:28 PM
  4. MPTune Video
    By 1BADVAN in forum EFI Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-13-2012, 08:36 PM
  5. adjusting points in MPTune
    By 1966 dart wagon in forum EFI Tuning
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-10-2012, 09:50 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •