Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: High Idle

  1. #1

    High Idle

    I have a '89 LeBaron ( H body ) T1 with a high idle problem. Sometimes I have a high idle of 2200 RPM or so and other times car idles perfect. Have checked out vacumn lines with propane and thought i found a bad vacumn line off one of the ports of the throttle body and I replaced it. No codes are found. I shot fuel injection cleaner through the throttle body but the high idle returned. Would a bad or out of range AIS solenoid cause this ?
    Maybe the Mopar Performance computer doesn't show a bad AIS ?


    Jim

  2. #2
    Hybrid booster
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    857

    Re: High Idle

    Quote Originally Posted by dodgeman87 View Post
    I have a '89 LeBaron ( H body ) T1 with a high idle problem. Sometimes I have a high idle of 2200 RPM or so and other times car idles perfect. Have checked out vacumn lines with propane and thought i found a bad vacumn line off one of the ports of the throttle body and I replaced it. No codes are found. I shot fuel injection cleaner through the throttle body but the high idle returned. Would a bad or out of range AIS solenoid cause this ?
    Maybe the Mopar Performance computer doesn't show a bad AIS ?
    Jim
    Hi Jim.
    With known good vacuum lines and free of leaks..
    The TI has a DC motor with a small plastic planetary gear set that opens and closes a 'shutter vane' assembly.
    These can require cleaning or replacement over time and may be worth investigating.
    When removed from the motor, the shutter and gears should effortlessly and freely open and close.
    If not, the plastic has minor scores or contamination has built up and in both cases should cleaned/corrected.




    DC Turbo-I AIS Motor (Internet Photo)
    Name:  DC_AIS.png
Views: 126
Size:  47.8 KB

  3. #3
    turbo addict looneytuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Maryland Heights, Mo. St. Loui
    Posts
    1,577

    Re: High Idle

    If it is the suck through type, a loose turbo hose will make it idle right in that range. The loose hose basically bypasses the throttle body. I figured that out when it happened to me.

  4. #4
    boostaholic
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ewing, NJ
    Posts
    1,161

    Re: High Idle

    I am having this problem with my TI 86 Daytona Turbo Z. However, mine seems to be idling around 3000 RPM. No vac leaks that I could detect, and I have replaced the AIS motor, granted with a used one, but sometime it idles just perfect and other times it will idle at that high RPM. Sometimes it will idle high for a few blocks of driving than calm down. Mine too has a Mopar Performance logic module. Wiring harness is pretty well hacked, and I plan to install a good used one this summer. Would a loose turbo hose cause this high of an idle?
    -Lee

  5. #5
    Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tuscola, IL
    Posts
    19,790

    Re: High Idle

    On a TI log car any vac leak will cause an exceptionally high idle. I would certainly think that a loose turbo to intake coupler could cause this too.

Similar Threads

  1. high idle
    By tman1999 in forum "I need help!"
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-30-2013, 07:28 PM
  2. high idle
    By MoparN75 in forum "I need help!"
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-15-2013, 06:18 AM
  3. high idle
    By comnigo in forum Electrical & Fuel System
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-24-2010, 07:08 PM
  4. high idle on
    By Mike_Shepard in forum "I need help!"
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-20-2006, 02:56 AM
  5. High Idle
    By show-off in forum "I need help!"
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-07-2006, 03:23 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •