Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 87 Horizon 2.2L 6520 Carb Will Not Idle

Mitsu booster

87 Horizon 2.2L 6520 Carb Will Not Idle

ive tried so many things i cant even describe.... if anyone would be willing to throw out ideas i can tell you if i have or havent tried it. quick rundown, checked vac lines and replaced bad. new plugs, wires, rotor and fuel filter. carb has been rebuilt.... its been sitting for 10 years, i DID NOT remove the old gas. it was a small amount so i added seafoam to stabilize it and then added fresh to it.

still will not idle but runs fairly smooth at 2-3k rpm.

any help would be great.. .thanks guys

turbo addict

Re: 87 Horizon 2.2L 6520 Carb Will Not Idle

Try putting in a bigger primary jet...might be just too lean to be happy. I am not a mechanic, but have had nearly everything happen to my cars. One night at the drag strip my car would not run unless I nailed the gas hard enough to open the mechanical secondary...after the race I got it home, pulled the top of the carb, looked at the jets and the primary one looked like a tiny rock was in it...ended up it was the but end of a bug!
    [SIZE=3][COLOR=#000000]47 Time NHRA/IHRA drag race champ-----84 Plymouth Horizon/1 of 84 HO equipped from the factory/1910 lbs, 2.5 with carb, nearly 315,000 miles-----04 SRT4/S2 with S3 turbo/12.17 @ 119/DOTs/93 Octane/SOLD-----2003 PT Cruiser GT, won a True Street class at the 2017 National Muscle Car Association World Street Finals-----2010 Toyota Prius/my delivery truck, 77.9 mpg best and NOT A PLUG IN, nearly 230,000 miles and way over 5600 miles per month! [/COLOR][/SIZE]

boostaholic Turbo Mopar Contributor