Thread: First shelby daytona- putting her back on the road

Mitsu booster

First shelby daytona- putting her back on the road

Hello everyone,i am a newb here and want to tell you about the new ride i picked up.Found a ad on craigslist for a 89 shelby daytona-$500 Hardly a discription and no pictures. So i travel 150 miles with my truck and trailer to pick the car up.I get there and its a white with red interior t-top automatic car.It has the digi dash,original radio with slave cd and the rear daytona sunshield still there(although its badly faded but done its job)The car only has 83k actual miles and is a clean title.The owner said it needed a turbo but they drove it around like that until the brake line broke,then he parked it.It has sat for 5 years and i did notice some rust on the d/s floorboard.P/s looked decent.The car has a full bra and says daytona across the windshield,lol

So im needing a turbo for the car,id like to get a t2 garrett and whatever i need to bolt it up and make it work,but a original mitsu turbo would be fine too because its just a atx car afterall.

I plan on bringing this back to dd status since its so low miles,plus the wife dont think its cool-but i KNOW its cool,funny thing is that the car is older than her,she will like it once she feels the turbo spool.

Do you guys think i should do a t2 conversion or just leave it alone? I dont want to replace the tranny so how much power can it hold?

Also what can you guys tell me about this car? How rare is it? What problems can i look forward too?

I plan on putting a fmic on it,i have a conquest one and some turbocoupe ones i could use-got a volvo one somewhere.

Ill get some pics soon-oh lastly how can i tell what build # it is?

Re: First shelby daytona- putting her back on the road

Howdy. Welcome to hobby!
    How about some pictures?
    Sounds like you have a lot of work ahead of you. Did a hard brake line break or one of the rubbers ones?
    What are your plans for the car?