Thread: Will a 2,000 lb hitch be sufficient to tow a charger?

Will a 2,000 lb hitch be sufficient to tow a charger?

I have a 2,000 lb rated hitch behind my van, I need to tow a charger a lot of miles... Uhaul's system says the hitch is not sufficient. Thoughts?

edit: will be towing with a dolly.
    Last edited by vxvxAndrewxvxv; 08-06-2012 at 05:09 PM.

Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar

Re: Will a 2,000 lb hitch be sufficient to tow a charger?

I'm not a towing expert, but I would probably hold off towing a vehicle weighing about 2500lbs. with a 2000lb. rated hitch.

Super Moderator Turbo Mopar Staff 135sohc's Avatar

I wouldnt.

Hybrid booster

Nope.

Hybrid booster
    Nope dolly plus car is over 3000lbs.
    KO, 86 T&C Turbo II 89 Daytona Shelby 84 Stingray SVB165SS

Thanks all for the replies. Took your advice, and didn't tow it. Glad we didn't now. Wouldn't have been worth it if I had hurt my baby.

Moderator Turbo Mopar Staff Vigo's Avatar

I think i would need to see the hitch, but im guessing i would have been just fine with it. Dolleys are pretty easy on hitches since they have almost no tongue weight. Towing 3000 lbs with a 2000lb hitch is probably well within what it was designed to do, even if it's not under the CYA number the hitch company labels it with.

Dont push the red button.You hear me?

turbo addict

Quote Originally Posted by Vigo View Post
    I think i would need to see the hitch, but im guessing i would have been just fine with it. Dolleys are pretty easy on hitches since they have almost no tongue weight. Towing 3000 lbs with a 2000lb hitch is probably well within what it was designed to do, even if it's not under the CYA number the hitch company labels it with.
    What about in braking? What about in windy condition? Towing over the rated weight is foolish and accident waiting to happen.

Found this last Friday.