Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tips for honing cylinders for first time?

turbo addict Turbo Mopar Contributor iTurbo's Avatar

Tips for honing cylinders for first time?

Hey everybody, I got a farily low miles '85 2.2L TI engine I'm rebuilding at the moment. I have it on a stand and upon disassembly everything is looking pretty good. I would like to just give it a quick hone and new rings on the stock pistons and let it rip. Would be happy with a 150 WHP daily driver motor out of this. I bought a three stone hone from Sears that mounts in a drill. I searched a bit and it sounds like a ball hone is preferred but this is what I got. I would appreciate any and all tips on how to get this right the first time as I am a total novice at engine building and looking forward to the learning experience here.

turbo addict

Re: Tips for honing cylinders for first time?

Take it to a machine shop and have them hot tank and do a "touch hone" which preps the cylinder for new rings. It shouldn't cost anymore than a ball hone will.

http://www.hastingsmfg.com/ServiceTi...efinishing.htm

---------- Post added at 11:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:41 PM ----------

Another....not too big of a deal..

http://mgaguru.com/mgtech/tools/ts312.htm

Thanks for the links. I'm actually trying to avoid going to the machine shop. There is only one machine shop in town and while they do a good job, I usually end up waiting forever for them to get my stuff done. That's kinda why I bought my own tool to do this.