Thread: 83 Plymouh Scamp GT w/ 2.2 Shelby Turbo

Mitsu booster

83 Plymouh Scamp GT w/ 2.2 Shelby Turbo

Hey whats up guys,
    Im kinda new to this site and figured I could learn more about MOPAR's from yall...
    Im going to start rebuilding my recently bought Scamp which is going to have a 85 shelby turbo engine(and mostly all engine parts and the door panel). I got a question though, I want to get better horsepower and torque out of the engine and was wondering what all could I do to make ehh 180-200hp?

This is my first project and I would really appreciate the help.

Moderator Turbo Mopar Staff Vigo's Avatar

Re: 83 Plymouh Scamp GT w/ 2.2 Shelby Turbo

The 85 turbo motor can easily make ~165 hp on stock parts, but past that the intake manifold becomes a restriction. People have gone plenty fast with the stock 85 intake (log intake) but for most people the easiest route to 200+hp is to upgrade to the newer-style intake system.

The biggest single change you should probably do to an 85 turbo engine (which we could call an early t1 with a log intake) to reach 200hp would be to change out the intake manifold to the one we call the 1 piece intake (or 1pc).

It comes on 88-93 turbo motors and looks like this: