Thread: Rebuild, or not rebuild, that is the ?

Mitsu booster

Question Rebuild, or not rebuild, that is the ?

ok, so, i bought an 88 shadow es 2.2 t1 car for 300.00. i had it taken to the dodge delership where i work as a tech rebuilding transmissions so i have ALL the tools i need to fix this car properly. i knew when i walked into this that the previous owner popped a head gasket (big suprise there lol) but she kept driving it until the engine quit. i pulled oil pan and valve cover and the amount of rust was stagering. cam rusted in head, #1 exhaust rocker fell out of place crank has rust and cylinder walls have rust. should i have this one rebuilt or just get one from a local bone yard and rebuild it, only trouble is i'd need to remove covers and caps to inspect bearings and condition. Wich reminds me, i was poking around 1 of the few yards here and found a shelby daytona all f'ed up, laying facia down in the dirt getting destroyed, how sad. can i put a t2 long block in this car too? how about fabbibng my own FMIC? my 05 5.7 ram getting hard to keep fuel in, this little 4 cylinder would be a releif.

Buy my stuff!!!!!!!!!!! :O) Turbo Mopar Vendor turbovanmanČ's Avatar

Re: Rebuild, or not rebuild, that is the ?

Well, as you know, when overheated, they can turn into paperweights, usually the head warps so badly and cracks its junk.

I would search for another decent long block, which is great as you can use a TBI engine if you want, 89+ will be alot more common, then all you need to do is find some decent rods if yours are buggered and get some new pistons, forged of course.

FMIC is easy to install, and you might want to source up a Garrett turbo, the Mitsu is ok but as we all end up doing, you want more.

Go surf this site for a few hours for more ideas-

www.thedodgegarge.com turbo database section.