Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My 1984 Plymouth Turismo 2.2

Garrett booster

My 1984 Plymouth Turismo 2.2 (NEW PICTURES/VIDEO)

Got this Turismo from my grandfather last year. He washed and waxed the car and put it under cover in the garage for almost 10 years. This is also after he rebuilt the carb.

Here is a video I have of the Turismo when I started it in October of '09. The last time I worked on it was December of '09 and I have decided to continue work on "El Turismo".

Tomorrow I will be cleaning out the engine bay and ridding it of mouse feces that I found this past week. Then I will begin ripping stuff out and cleaning to make sure everything is 100% ready to go.

Thanks for checking it out. And just so you know, I have NEVER worked on a car before so this will be fun.
    Last edited by austinlarg; 12-15-2010 at 10:39 PM.

Re: My 1984 Plymouth Turismo 2.2

As a fellow Turismo owner, I give it two thumbs up!

Garrett booster

Quote Originally Posted by DC Turismo View Post
    As a fellow Turismo owner, I give it two thumbs up!
    Hey thanks buddy

Garrett booster

***Update***

So I cleaned out most of the rat feces with a heavy duty blower. Then I covered the alternator and distributor cap with plastic bags. After that I sprayed some simple green on some parts that needed cleaning and rinsed off the engine. Finally I broke out the blower again to help speed up the drying process.

Found something odd with my Holley carburetor. Here is a picture.

I dont know if this is right, but it only has 1 choke plate and it's already opened without the car even being started. Any ideas?

*Also, tried starting the car but it clicked once and did nothing else. I would only expect it to be a power problem. So tomorrow I'll check the battery cables and make sure everything is dry. I'll post all the other pictures tomorrow of the car.

Moderator Turbo Mopar Staff Vigo's Avatar

Im digging the period wheels on that thing.

Dont push the red button.You hear me?