Thread: 87 T2 LM + auto trans = ???

87 T2 LM + auto trans = ???

I've got a 87 T2 daytona logic module, if I run it in a setup with an auto trans instead of a manual trans as the LM is calibrated for, am I going to run into any problems with driveability? I've heard some rumors over the years of stalling on decel or the manual trans LM not being able to deal with the extra load at idle in gear.

Any truth to these rumors or am I worrying about nothing??

turbo addict

Re: 87 T2 LM + auto trans = ???

I have been running a GLHS LM with an automatic for about 6 months now. I had some idle issues with the speed sensor connected, mostly with it coming to a stop. It was tolerable, but disconnecting the speed sensor was a perfect cure. The idle now slips down to about 700 before bumping back up to 900 rpm when the car slows to a stop, just enough to load the engine against the converter.

I realize that diconnecting the speed sensor at the sensor will cause your speedo to stop working. I would try driving it with everything connected, and if for some reason you run into any issues you could disconnect the speed sensor input to the LM, which would keep the speedo working correctly.

A very easy solution is to find a LM for an automatic-equipped Shelby Lancer. Only factory TII/Auto LM out there!
    “If the people of the nation understood our banking and monetary system, I believe there would be a revolution before tomorrow morning.” -Henry Ford

Thanks for the tip, I'll keep that in mind. This is going into a vehicle with a cable op speedo anyway, so that makes things easy. I would just look for a lancer T2 LM like you say, but I already have 2 or 3 shelby Z LM's sitting on the shelf...

Or get someone to socket and burn a chip for an 87 Shelby Lancer. I can't remember his name.

Garrett booster