Thread: Unusual electrical issue...

Hybrid booster

Unusual electrical issue...

Well...this is the first car that has had me stumped so many times.

So I'm going to get as specific as I can. This problem has me stumped.

This past thursday was the first time I drove this car for an extended amount of time. I was on the highway, and my headlights started flickering. As they flickered, the car would start to missfire. There wasn't much pattern to the issues. The more it happened, the more observant I became. I noticed that the volt gauge would also drop as this was going on. I dropped the car into 4th gear to ensure that I had the rpm to sustain the voltage.

When I was back in my neighborhood, I started playing with the car a bit. I noticed that if I turned the wheel to the left, the lights would get nice and bright, and have no issues, but if I turned to the right, they would dim, car would missfire, and it would act up.

Also, since I've had to babysit the voltage gauge, I would notice that as soon as I hit the gas, the voltage would drop a volt or so, regardless of RPM. If I let off of the gas at any RPM, I'd pick up voltage and everything would work a bit better.

Today, I pulled the steering column covers off, and found nothing to be wrong. I'm not too familiar with the electrical portion of these cars, so I don't know if they face the same ignition switch failure issues that fords of the same era do. It would seem to make sense that that point. I inspected the connectors on the switch, and nothing seemed wrong, but I don't want to pull the switch off and apart without having a replacement. Also, as far as I know, all of the connections on the alternator and battery are good, clean and tight.

This thing has me stumped. Any ideas?

Buy my stuff!!!!!!!!!!! :O) Turbo Mopar Vendor turbovanman²'s Avatar

Re: Unusual electrical issue...

Maybe check for anything binding on the steering parts or touching?