Thread: Changing timing belt help!!

Mitsu booster

Changing timing belt help!!

Okay i am changing my timing belt and i am going to admit that this is my first time doing so and i have just been pushing along and learning as i go so if i sound kind of new to this it is because i am. Now first of all i am trying to set everything to tdc so that i can pull out the belt before i put in the next one and i am having problems. first of all i can't locate the bellhousing window so that i can see the marks that help me set the engine. Second my timing belt has lost a couple of teeth so it isn't gripping the shaft and i cant turn the pulley because the part where the teeth have grinded off are right at the bottom where i have to crank it all and since it won't grip it won't turn and with that i can't even set the engine so i can't do anything at all until i fix that problem first. So Please can anyone on here help me. Oh and can you please be specific when telling me where the window for the bellhousing is.

Car: 1989 plymouth Sundance, automatic, 2.5 4cylinder engine.

Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor turbo84voyager's Avatar

Re: Changing timing belt help!!