Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Turbo Auto Trans

Garrett booster

Turbo Auto Trans

hi all, i am working on making my tbi 92 daytona into a turbo daytona with a completely new engine from TU. (i will be using a 92 SBEC computer from a 92 iroc daytona which was a 5-speed) besides that, here is my question, MY car is currently an auto, and i want to keep it an auto, so which trans do i need for my car.( it will be running stock power ) sorry, i am new to all of TD stuff.

thanks!

Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar

Re: Turbo Auto Trans

First off, welcome to the site.

The main potential problem that I can think of is the fact that all R/Ts and IROCs came with a 5 speed, and I don't if you will be able to control the lockup converter with the TIII ECU or not. Also, I believe that the TIIIs had a crank sensor which might be an issue also.

Have you thought about converting to 91' TI specs so that you can get a factory cal for a lock up converter auto? It is SBEC, there is much more support for the cals, and it will only require some wiring changes which you will have to do anyway.

Garrett booster

the computer that i have is for a 92 turbo 2.5 daytona, which is a TI or TII i think. i thought that the only TIII car was the 92-93 iroc r/t 2.2? found it on Ebay and the seller listed the vin from the car it was pulled from and said it was a shelby or an iroc. i just found what Chris from TU told me to find.

Garrett booster

i have also read on this site, guys using the computer from a manual car for an auto just leaving that lockup thing unplugged and it working perfect, i would love a 5-speed but the only reason i want to keep it an auto is 1. i am lazy and 2.i know it involves all of the cables and stuff and a new shifter console.

I see now. The 2.5 TI IROCs were super rare. You should be able to track down an auto cal for that car, but the fact that it is SBECII makes it a little more difficult.