Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lowered 1st Gen Dakota?

Garrett booster

Lowered 1st Gen Dakota?

Decided I want to drop the Dakota about 3 inches . . . problem is I can't find any lowering kits for it!!!!

If anyone could help find a kit, or offer advice, I'd greatly appreciate it!!!

Hoosier Daddy?? Turbo Mopar Staff Clay's Avatar

Re: Lowered 1st Gen Dakota?

hell they make all kinds of parts for those. Drop spindles and springs, shackles and/or hangers for the rear.

http://www.sporttruckdirect.com/dakota_kits.html

just look around
    Clay
    1986 GLH-T - Flat black......... learn it, love it, LIVE IT!
    1988 LeBaron GTC Turbo

SDML Readers Rides
    C/S Registry
    Stuff For Sale

Garrett booster

lol thanks clay! I must have spent an hour looking last night, didn't find ISH!

Found these today, but only a 2" drop.

I'm new to this (trucks) so what exactly are "drop spindles" and are they better than lowering springs?

What is the safest route to go, and which is best for my truck in the long run? (it hasn't even got 100k on it)

drop spindles are basically a whole new knuckle with the spindle moved UP. This lowers the truck but keeps suspension geometry the same. Usually a combo of spindle and lowering springs gives the best outcome, but they can be used independently.
    Clay
    1988 LeBaron GTC Turbo

SDML Readers Rides
    C/S Registry
    Stuff For Sale

Garrett booster

Clay, just checked out that site, that is EXACTLY what I'm looking for! I think I'm gonna do the 2" drop in front w/ the 4" in rear. . . .

Wanna start w/ the interior of the truck first (see my other post in the lounge "Junkyard scavengers") Then get her sanded down/ready for paint, drop it and paint it then wheels last.

I've been thinking about doing a 5.9L V8 swap too, but that's gonna be a year or so down the road (don't wanna mess with it during winter)

Garrett booster