Thread: Simple piston to cylinder wall clearance

turbo addict

Simple piston to cylinder wall clearance

So, I am building up a 2.5L CB for a daily driver. I'd really like to reuse the pistons if possible. Unfortunately, I don't have a set of '89+ FSMs, just my '86 set.

I'm also new to building the bottom end of an engine. So I have two questions.

1) What is the piston to cylinder wall clearance for a 2.5L CB supposed to be? (note: the '86 book says 0.0015-0.0025")

2) Is the spec for just one side or is that total?

I'm asking #2 because I took the engine to the machine shop today and the difference between the piston skirt diameter and the non-re-honed cylinder diameter was between 0.005 and 0.007.

Buy my stuff!!!!!!!!!!! :O) Turbo Mopar Vendor turbovanmanČ's Avatar

Re: Simple piston to cylinder wall clearance

.005 is too loose for a cast piston, it will rattle and make alot of noise. If you really want to reuse your block, find a set of forged pistons, that clearance is perfect. I would set cast to .002-.003 max.

You measure from where the manufacterer tells you bust 99%, its the skirt to block.
    1989 FWD Turbo Caravan-2.5 TIII, GT35R, auto, a/c, cruise, pwr windows/locks, fully loaded with interior and ran with full exhaust. RETIRED FOR A FEW YEARS! 12.57@104 :O)
    1984 Chev Getaway van, 6.2 Diesel with a remote mounted turbo setup burning WMO-For sale.
    2003 GSW 2.0L TDI, auto, fully loaded, modified, 360K-wife's.
    2004 GSW TDI, 5 speed, fully loaded, modified.

Aurora ignition wires for sale. Link to info

Super60 roller cams or custom/billet cams. Link to info

turbo addict

Forged is waaaaay out of the budget for this rebuild.

Quote Originally Posted by chilort View Post
    Forged is waaaaay out of the budget for this rebuild.
    Well by the time you buy new cast pistons and bore out your block, your close to forged. If your bores are not tapered or worn, then you should be able to find some std forged and drop them in.