Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 61 to 79 of 79

Thread: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

  1. #61
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,838

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    isnt turbonator based on the BN880 3bar stuff which was derived from what jeff c and i did to find and change all the tables back to stock in the 2-bar version?

    thats 4 people working on stuff.... there could be errors.

    Brian

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

  2. #62
    Visit www.boostbutton.com... Turbo Mopar Contributor ShelGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Whitmore Lake, Michigan, Unite
    Posts
    9,918

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    Quote Originally Posted by MiniMopar View Post
    The main issue with BB is that it is customized to Geoff's setup. It has a lot of changes to the tables in the source assembly that make it very different from stock. I have no idea why he made many of them and they do not seem to work very well on stock setups. The problem was that when it came out there was no easy way to return it to stock without heavily customizing one of the old TBL files from the library or hand-modifying the tables in the assembly to return them to stock. Even then, most of those old cals did not have TBL entries for some of the things that were changed and there was no reference for the 3-bar tables anyway.

    Rob took the time to make the tables in the source code as close to stock as possible, which is a huge help. I'm still not sure why Turbonator doesn't like to idle, though. I've been doing some revisions to BB60 in the meantime but at some point we need to figure out why the spark advance isn't coming out right.

    Actually, I started with the BB60_Stock that Brian Bucar et al built. I just added the custom code to do the non-stock things (switchable boost, CE Flash, Alky Inj, Anti-lag, etc.). I didn't do anything with the cal values themselves. I did return a couple of code changes back to stock, and I implemented my own staging limiter code...
    https://db.tt/SV7ONZpQ
    Rob Lloyd
    '89 Daytona C/S

    2.5 T1 Auto
    13.24 @ 100.5mph
    NHRA #3728 AF/S

    boostbutton.com
    tuning wiki

  3. #63
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,838

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    yeah you used Roberts (BN880) 3bar version. He took the stuff that jeff and i worked with and scaled the values to 3-bar and did nothing else to them.

    i wonder if there is a lone timing value for not-WOT (ie part and idle) that is messed up or a scaling factor or something. my car will show the knock light at part throttle sometimes at 9psi even though i have the timing the same for full and part throttle in boost. i know that i had trouble idling smooth when i first started taking a 2.2L cal and making a 2.5L cal out of it. that would explain my rough idle and the knock at part throttle. i need to take a look at some datalogged values for timing at the same boost and rpm at part and full throttle.

    Brian

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

  4. #64

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    OK, thanks for clearing that up. In any case, the problem with BB60 is that it is too far from stock to start with.

    As for the idle advance, I did some A-B-A tests using the OTC at the track as SDAC and there was a difference in the total advance between the two at idle. I can't remember, but I think BB had less advance. I ended up sticking BB60 at the track since I saw an immediate improvement in my times after switching back. It's just the difference between a tuned cal and one that I hadn't had time to tune yet. I'll be release a new BB60 revision at some point soon. It has some more CHEM tag fixes in the source and has some idle control stuff rolled back to stock.

  5. #65
    Garrett booster
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Waukesha, WI
    Posts
    78

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    I had need recently to enable my LM to run off of a 0-5v wideband signal. I have not seen any of Frank's solution outside of this thread, so here is what I did to make it work. Using T-LMv13 I adjusted 4 constants and swapped 2 branches.

    Adjusted these constants for my wideband sensor:
    Code:
    O2MIDH_HighLimitForInMiddleDetermination
    O2MIDL_LowLimitForInMiddleDetermination
    O2HSWP_HighLimitForO2RampSwitching
    O2LSWP_LowLimitForO2RampSwitching
    The high limits are now the lean values. The low limits are now the rich values.

    I did not change O2TLMH_HighLimitForDelayedSwitchToClosedLoop and O2TLML_LowLimitForDelayedSwitchToClosedLoop because when the O2 sensor is not connected the circuit floats at around 0.45v. So these are not A/F values.

    The only routine that cares weather the O2 reading is rich or lean, not just in the middle or not, is at LD70D which calls O2Signal_AboveToggle and O2Signal_BelowToggle. Here I just swapped the branch targets.

    Old Code
    Code:
       LD70D:  stab Timer_CLTIME_ClosedLoopTimer    ; store b into memory
               clrb                ; b = 0
               cmpa O2HSWP_HighLimitForO2RampSwitching    ; compare a with memory contents (data is 19)
               bcc  O2Signal_AboveToggle    ; branch if greater or equal
               cmpa O2LSWP_LowLimitForO2RampSwitching    ; compare a with memory contents (data is 18)
               bcs  O2Signal_BelowToggle    ; branch if lower
               rts                 ; return from subroutine
    
    
    O2Signal_AboveToggle:
               decb            
    O2Signal_BelowToggle:
    New Code
    Code:
       LD70D:  stab Timer_CLTIME_ClosedLoopTimer    ; store b into memory
               clrb                ; b = 0
               cmpa O2HSWP_HighLimitForO2RampSwitching   ; compare a with memory contents (data is 79)
               bcc  O2Signal_Is_Lean    ; Branch if LEAN
               cmpa O2LSWP_LowLimitForO2RampSwitching    ; compare a with memory contents (data is 78)
               bcs  O2Signal_Is_Rich    ; branch if RICH
               rts                 ; return from subroutine
    
    
    O2Signal_Is_Rich:
               decb            
    O2Signal_Is_Lean:

  6. #66
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    7,351

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    Wow, this thread havn't been updated for 12 years.

    Great job on that 5v o2 update, jpcturbo

  7. #67
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,838

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    Quote Originally Posted by jpcturbo View Post
    I had need recently to enable my LM to run off of a 0-5v wideband signal. I have not seen any of Frank's solution outside of this thread, so here is what I did to make it work. Using T-LMv13 I adjusted 4 constants and swapped 2 branches.

    Adjusted these constants for my wideband sensor:
    Code:
    O2MIDH_HighLimitForInMiddleDetermination
    O2MIDL_LowLimitForInMiddleDetermination
    O2HSWP_HighLimitForO2RampSwitching
    O2LSWP_LowLimitForO2RampSwitching
    The high limits are now the lean values. The low limits are now the rich values.

    I did not change O2TLMH_HighLimitForDelayedSwitchToClosedLoop and O2TLML_LowLimitForDelayedSwitchToClosedLoop because when the O2 sensor is not connected the circuit floats at around 0.45v. So these are not A/F values.

    The only routine that cares weather the O2 reading is rich or lean, not just in the middle or not, is at LD70D which calls O2Signal_AboveToggle and O2Signal_BelowToggle. Here I just swapped the branch targets.

    Old Code
    Code:
       LD70D:  stab Timer_CLTIME_ClosedLoopTimer    ; store b into memory
               clrb                ; b = 0
               cmpa O2HSWP_HighLimitForO2RampSwitching    ; compare a with memory contents (data is 19)
               bcc  O2Signal_AboveToggle    ; branch if greater or equal
               cmpa O2LSWP_LowLimitForO2RampSwitching    ; compare a with memory contents (data is 18)
               bcs  O2Signal_BelowToggle    ; branch if lower
               rts                 ; return from subroutine
    
    
    O2Signal_AboveToggle:
               decb            
    O2Signal_BelowToggle:
    New Code
    Code:
       LD70D:  stab Timer_CLTIME_ClosedLoopTimer    ; store b into memory
               clrb                ; b = 0
               cmpa O2HSWP_HighLimitForO2RampSwitching   ; compare a with memory contents (data is 79)
               bcc  O2Signal_Is_Lean    ; Branch if LEAN
               cmpa O2LSWP_LowLimitForO2RampSwitching    ; compare a with memory contents (data is 78)
               bcs  O2Signal_Is_Rich    ; branch if RICH
               rts                 ; return from subroutine
    
    
    O2Signal_Is_Rich:
               decb            
    O2Signal_Is_Lean:
    nice!

    im not on a LM anymore or id try it out.

    Brian

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

  8. #68
    ...if you know what I mean... Turbo Mopar Contributor csxtra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    829

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    Nice job Jeff! I may look into adding this code into my LM and wiring in the 0-5V output on my wideband if time allows this summer.

    Thanks for posting this up!

    Warren
    Warren Hall
    "My Name is Warren and my car is an alcoholic..."
    OVC - SDAC "Our Sh*t Rolls!"
    Cincinnati, OH
    87 CSX # 741
    317WHP - 380 WFt-Lbs (STD-5)
    12.460 @ 113.2 - Race Gas + Methanol Injection
    12.749 @ 109.84 - 91 octane + Methanol Injection (Still tuning...)
    "Illegitimi non carborundum."
    -General Joseph Stillwell
    TD Runlogger Page Has Moved...

  9. #69
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,838

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    morris, can you add this into the turbonator-LM code as an option?

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

  10. #70
    Garrett booster
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Waukesha, WI
    Posts
    78

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    Thanks guys.

    Jeff Chojnacki
    '87 LeBaron 2.2 T2 Auto
    '88 Caravan 2.2 T2 5spd

  11. #71
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    2,038

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    Quote Originally Posted by Aries_Turbo View Post
    morris, can you add this into the turbonator-LM code as an option?
    yes, i'll take a look and see. shouldn't be too hard.

    mt
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  12. #72
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    2,038

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    jpcturbo, - i quickly looked back through this thread to try to understand what was being done. one thing that does confuse me is the comment that the stock o2 sensor reports a low voltage when lean and a high voltage when rich? at least based on the NB sim graph.. i was also thinking it may be easier to set up the wb2nb stuff like the t-smec does, i.e. a couple translation tables and a cal "option" to turn it on...
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  13. #73
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    2,038

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    jpcturbo, would it not be easier to set the lm up like the t-smec wb to nb functions?
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  14. #74
    Garrett booster
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Waukesha, WI
    Posts
    78

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    Quote Originally Posted by wowzer View Post
    jpcturbo, would it not be easier to set the lm up like the t-smec wb to nb functions?
    I originally wanted to just do the same as t-smec and implement the wb2nb functionality as that would be a more flexible solution. However I had trouble figuring out a safe way to inject (hook into) the O2 conversion in the LM's AD conversion loop. How the LM handles the Analog Inputs is a bit different than SMEC and I was afraid that the LM's AD loop would be time sensitive.

  15. #75
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    2,038

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    Quote Originally Posted by jpcturbo View Post
    I originally wanted to just do the same as t-smec and implement the wb2nb functionality as that would be a more flexible solution. However I had trouble figuring out a safe way to inject (hook into) the O2 conversion in the LM's AD conversion loop. How the LM handles the Analog Inputs is a bit different than SMEC and I was afraid that the LM's AD loop would be time sensitive.
    what t-lm template are you using? let me put something together for you to look at/test. maybe we can get it to work. i switched my LM to a SBEC so i have nothing to test with anymore.
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  16. #76
    Garrett booster
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Waukesha, WI
    Posts
    78

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    Quote Originally Posted by wowzer View Post
    what t-lm template are you using? let me put something together for you to look at/test. maybe we can get it to work. i switched my LM to a SBEC so i have nothing to test with anymore.
    Latest and greatest version 13. T-LMv13.

    Jeff Chojnacki
    '87 LeBaron 2.2 T2 Auto
    '88 Caravan 2.2 T2 5spd

  17. #77
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    2,038

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    Any particular template?
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  18. #78
    Garrett booster
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Waukesha, WI
    Posts
    78

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    Sorry reading too fast. 2.2L Auto 3bar +40s. I've used T_LM_22_ATX_S-IV.tpl as the base template for my K-car.

    Jeff Chojnacki
    '87 LeBaron 2.2 T2 Auto
    '88 Caravan 2.2 T2 5spd

  19. #79
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    2,038

    Re: Turbonator LM Code - Wideband Discussion

    jeff - pm'd you.
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •