Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: horsepower A-555 can handle??

Hybrid booster

horsepower A-555 can handle??

Question is in the subject. I bought this Daytona with a one year old Cliff rebuilt A-555 with nothing special done to it but a standard rebuild. How much power have you guy's pushed them before something breaks or the 3rd gear issue occurs????
    I have run A-413 for 8 years, so I have little knowledge what the stick trans can handle.

Re: horsepower A-555 can handle??

They are pretty tough. The weak point of the A555 is the bearing retainer plate. Put a chrome moly one in there and it should handle anything you can throw at it. There is the issue with the main bearing, but that is more a wear item than a strength thing.

Admin- "Alexandria" Ken... Comes W/4 Car Garage Turbo Mopar Staff GLHSKEN's Avatar

Reeves throws over 400 to the wheels with one...
    Ken Adler....
    Cars, A few (9)

Hybrid booster

Quote Originally Posted by MiniMopar View Post
    They are pretty tough. The weak point of the A555 is the bearing retainer plate. Put a chrome moly one in there and it should handle anything you can throw at it. There is the issue with the main bearing, but that is more a wear item than a strength thing.
    Thanks Russ,
    I probably will not be installing the chrome molly plate at this point due to cost. What is the main issue or cause of the retainer plate to fail? My aim for this street car is between 260-280 HP to the wheels.
    I wasn't going to touch this car, but I got spoiled from the 350 HP from my CSX.

Hybrid booster

Quote Originally Posted by GLHSKEN View Post
    Thanks Ken,
    No Chrome Molly plate in his??

turbo addict

Quote Originally Posted by Stratman View Post
    Thanks Russ,
    I probably will not be installing the chrome molly plate at this point due to cost.
    Due to cost? The plate itself is $95 shipped, then you have to take the transmission out, buy RTV, and buy oil...

$110 and one afternoon later and you're done.