Page 99 of 101 FirstFirst ... 49899596979899100101 LastLast
Results 1,961 to 1,980 of 2006

Thread: Turbonator SMEC codebase

  1. #1961
    Garrett booster
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Marysville, WA
    Posts
    210

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    My goal is to get the CEL to shut off. I realize the codes may still be stored in the SMEC and report if polled for codes which is fine with me.

    I do not know how to compare the TPL and ASM otherwise I would do that.

  2. #1962
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,838

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    Quote Originally Posted by firehawk618 View Post
    My goal is to get the CEL to shut off. I realize the codes may still be stored in the SMEC and report if polled for codes which is fine with me.

    I do not know how to compare the TPL and ASM otherwise I would do that.
    i looked in the smec tpl for the error code mask and it looks like they did it differently than the LM (i didnt know this till now)

    ill see if i can figure it out.

    Brian

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

  3. #1963
    Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tuscola, IL
    Posts
    21,441

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    Thanks a ton Brian. I would like to have this better documented for those of us who want to do little things like remove the WG solenoid, etc. It's annoying for some of that stuff to cause a constant CEL.

  4. #1964
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,838

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    Im probably going to need help. All I know is what I read in the tpl. Rob documented some stuff in there on how it works. There are some numbers in there that I was going to try to change them to the mask values to see if they worked.

    But for going like by line down the assembly code, I'm really bad at that. I'll need help if my wild guess doesn't work.

    Brian

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

  5. #1965
    Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tuscola, IL
    Posts
    21,441

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    I'll be able to offer some super double wide wild guesses when you're in need.

  6. #1966
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,838

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    ; ************************************************** *********************
    ; ERROR CODE MASKS
    ; ************************************************** *********************
    ; Error code "masking" is implemented differently in the '89 T1 than in the earlier code.
    ; Instead of masking bits for the individual codes, an internal code is used to mask up to
    ; 7 different code bytes. The code bytes are as follows:
    ;
    ; Code # Code Offset (masking code)
    ; 61 Baro sensor open or shorted 31
    ; 62 EMR mileage cannot be stored in EEPROM 30
    ; 63 Controller cannot write to EEPROM 2f
    ;
    ; 44 Loss of FJ2 08,2c
    ; 45 Nothing (overboost) 07
    ; 46 Battery Volts High 06
    ; 47 Battery Volts Low 05
    ; 51 Lean condition 04
    ; 52 Rich Condition 03,2d
    ; 53 Prom Checksum 02
    ; 54 Distributor Sync 01
    ;
    ; 33 AC Cutout Relay 10
    ; 34 Speed Ctl Solenoid 0f
    ; 35 Radiator Fan Relay 0e
    ; 36 Wastegate Solenoid 0d
    ; 37 Barometric Read Solenoid 0c
    ; 41 Charging System 0b
    ; 42 Auto Shutdown Relay 0a
    ; 43 Ignition Coil Control 09,28,29,2b
    ;
    ; 22 Coolant Temp Sensor 1e,1f
    ; 23 Charge Temp Sensor 1c,1d
    ; 24 Throttle Position 1a,1b
    ; 25 AIS Motor 19
    ; 26 Injector Current Limit Not Achieved 16,17,18
    ; 27 Injector Driver interface 13,14,15
    ; 31 Purge Solenoid 12
    ; 32 Exh Gas Recirc Solenoid 11,2e
    ;
    ; 11 Engine Not Cranked Since Battery Disconnected 28
    ; 12 Memory Standby Power Lost 00
    ; 13 MAP Pneumatic 26,27
    ; 14 MAP Electrical 24,25
    ; 15 Vehicle Distance Sensor 23
    ; 16 Battery Voltage Sense 22
    ; 17 Engine Running Too Cool (thermostat) 21
    ; 21 Oxygen Sensor 20
    ;
    ; The "internal" or "masking" code is actually the offset used to lookup the code
    ; in the table 'ErrorCodesToDash_Table'
    ;
    ; The last byte MUST be 0x00, otherwise the code will result in an error.
    ; I think the original intent was to allow the factory calibrators to mask
    ; specific internal codes to try and debug errors. Previously, only the final
    ; error code could be masked - making the cause unclear in the case where multiple
    ; internal codes set the same error code.
    ;
    ; It should be possible to increase the size of the list by adding additional code
    ; bytes after "FLTMSK7_ErrorBitsMask7". Just make sure that the byte after the last one in
    ; the list remains 0x00. The mask cheking routine looks for this to mark the end of
    ; the list. Also, if the list is too long, it may cause lack of space for other
    ; items. So, be careful if adding to this list.
    this is in the .tpl. so it looks like you change the bytes in FLTMSK_ErrorBitsMask1: through FLTMSK7_ErrorBitsMask7: to mask the CEL.

    for the ones that have 2 or 3 bytes, im guessing you change one byte to the first, the next mask byte to the 2nd and so on and so forth.

    im going to try to edit firehawks cal and have him try it.

    Brian

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

  7. #1967
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,838

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    Ok Firehawk tested it out and it worked.

    I went to ErrorBitsMask1 in mptune, went over to the right area and clicked "show hex" as these are hexadecimal numbers and slid the slider till that value was 13.

    Then I went to ErrorBitsMask2 and clicked show hex and slid it to 14.

    Repeat for ErrorBitsMask3 -> 15, ErrorBitsMask4 -> 16, ErrorBitsMask5 -> 17, and ErrorBitsMask6, 18.

    That got rid of the cel for high impedance injectors.

    So for any of the codes in that list, you choose an ErrorBitsMask, click show hex, and change the value to what you want in the list above. If there are more than 1 value, like injector faults, then you have to add all the values.

    Brian

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

  8. #1968
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor jonnymopar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Southeastern MA
    Posts
    780

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    As soon as my car is off jack stands (hopefully tonight or tomorrow night), I really need to do this. I've been living with the code 26 for almost 60k miles now.

    It will be a piece of cake to see if it works now that I have a remote-mouted EPROM. No more pulling the ECU apart!
    Jon J.

    1989 Daytona ES 2.4L DOHC
    2003 Neon SXT - gone but never forgotten

    If it ain't broke, fix it 'till it is!

  9. #1969
    Garrett booster
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Marysville, WA
    Posts
    210

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnymopar View Post
    As soon as my car is off jack stands (hopefully tonight or tomorrow night), I really need to do this. I've been living with the code 26 for almost 60k miles now.

    It will be a piece of cake to see if it works now that I have a remote-mouted EPROM. No more pulling the ECU apart!
    I don't know about you guys but on my rig with a cel illuminated the flash cel on knock doesn't work so beware.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Aries_Turbo View Post
    Ok Firehawk tested it out and it worked.

    I went to ErrorBitsMask1 in mptune, went over to the right area and clicked "show hex" as these are hexadecimal numbers and slid the slider till that value was 13.

    Then I went to ErrorBitsMask2 and clicked show hex and slid it to 14.

    Repeat for ErrorBitsMask3 -> 15, ErrorBitsMask4 -> 16, ErrorBitsMask5 -> 17, and ErrorBitsMask6, 18.

    That got rid of the cel for high impedance injectors.

    So for any of the codes in that list, you choose an ErrorBitsMask, click show hex, and change the value to what you want in the list above. If there are more than 1 value, like injector faults, then you have to add all the values.

    Brian
    Yes indeed thank you very much for helping with that! I'm learning and can hopefully contribute to the smec side of things soon.

  10. #1970
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor jonnymopar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Southeastern MA
    Posts
    780

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    Quote Originally Posted by firehawk618 View Post
    I don't know about you guys but on my rig with a cel illuminated the flash cel on knock doesn't work so beware.
    Another benefit to getting rid of my code 26. Is the flash-on-knock a feature that has to be enabled in MPTune, or does it always work that way with a BoostButton tune? I've never been able to enjoy this feature since my check engine light has been on since 2008.
    Jon J.

    1989 Daytona ES 2.4L DOHC
    2003 Neon SXT - gone but never forgotten

    If it ain't broke, fix it 'till it is!

  11. #1971
    Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tuscola, IL
    Posts
    21,441

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    I'm sure it's enabled by default with all of the custom cals out there, as I can't imagine not wanting that feature, but you can enable, or disable it. I think when you download the stage cals, it's not enabled.

  12. #1972
    Visit www.boostbutton.com... Turbo Mopar Contributor ShelGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Whitmore Lake, Michigan, Unite
    Posts
    9,918

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    Quote Originally Posted by tryingbe View Post
    Last time I did it, all it did was to shut off the CEL light, code were still in the ECU and won't clear.
    In the SMEC, that's right. It just blocks the CEL, not the code.

    To mask the code you have to follow the instructions in the .tpl file (they don't display in MP Tune)...

    Code:
    ; ***********************************************************************
    ; ERROR CODE MASKS
    ; ***********************************************************************
    ; Error code "masking" is implemented differently in the '89 T1 than in the earlier code.
    ; Instead of masking bits for the individual codes, an internal code is used to mask up to
    ; 7 different code bytes. The code bytes are as follows:
    ;
    ; Code #	Code					Offset (masking code)
    ; 61	Baro sensor open or shorted			 31
    ; 62	EMR mileage cannot be stored in EEPROM 		 30
    ; 63	Controller cannot write to EEPROM		 2f
    ;
    ; 44	Loss of FJ2					 08,2c
    ; 45	Nothing (overboost)				 07
    ; 46	Battery Volts High				 06
    ; 47	Battery Volts Low				 05
    ; 51	Lean condition					 04
    ; 52	Rich Condition					 03,2d
    ; 53	Prom Checksum					 02
    ; 54	Distributor Sync				 01
    ;
    ; 33	AC Cutout Relay 				 10
    ; 34	Speed Ctl Solenoid				 0f
    ; 35	Radiator Fan Relay				 0e
    ; 36	Wastegate Solenoid				 0d
    ; 37	Barometric Read Solenoid			 0c
    ; 41	Charging System 				 0b
    ; 42	Auto Shutdown Relay				 0a
    ; 43	Ignition Coil Control				 09,28,29,2b
    ;
    ; 22	Coolant Temp Sensor				 1e,1f
    ; 23	Charge Temp Sensor				 1c,1d
    ; 24	Throttle Position				 1a,1b
    ; 25	AIS Motor					 19
    ; 26	Injector Current Limit Not Achieved		 16,17,18
    ; 27	Injector Driver interface			 13,14,15
    ; 31	Purge Solenoid					 12
    ; 32	Exh Gas Recirc Solenoid 			 11,2e
    ;
    ; 11	Engine Not Cranked Since Battery Disconnected	 28
    ; 12	Memory Standby Power Lost			 00
    ; 13	MAP Pneumatic					 26,27
    ; 14	MAP Electrical					 24,25
    ; 15	Vehicle Distance Sensor 			 23
    ; 16	Battery Voltage Sense				 22
    ; 17	Engine Running Too Cool (thermostat)		 21
    ; 21	Oxygen Sensor					 20
    ;
    ; The "internal" or "masking" code is actually the offset used to lookup the code
    ; in the table 'ErrorCodesToDash_Table'
    ;
    ; The last byte MUST be 0x00, otherwise the code will result in an error.
    ; I think the original intent was to allow the factory calibrators to mask
    ; specific internal codes to try and debug errors. Previously, only the final
    ; error code could be masked - making the cause unclear in the case where multiple
    ; internal codes set the same error code.
    ;
    ; It should be possible to increase the size of the list by adding additional code
    ; bytes after "FLTMSK7_ErrorBitsMask7". Just make sure that the byte after the last one in
    ; the list remains 0x00. The mask cheking routine looks for this to mark the end of
    ; the list. Also, if the list is too long, it may cause lack of space for other
    ; items. So, be careful if adding to this list.
    The registers are:

    Code:
    FLTMSK_ErrorBitsMask1
    From 1 to 7; under Setup\A - Cal Configuration\ in MP Tune...

    - - - Updated - - -

    If you want to simply stop all error codes from setting ever, that's not going to be easy to do...

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Aries_Turbo View Post
    Ok Firehawk tested it out and it worked.

    I went to ErrorBitsMask1 in mptune, went over to the right area and clicked "show hex" as these are hexadecimal numbers and slid the slider till that value was 13.

    Then I went to ErrorBitsMask2 and clicked show hex and slid it to 14.

    Repeat for ErrorBitsMask3 -> 15, ErrorBitsMask4 -> 16, ErrorBitsMask5 -> 17, and ErrorBitsMask6, 18.

    That got rid of the cel for high impedance injectors.

    So for any of the codes in that list, you choose an ErrorBitsMask, click show hex, and change the value to what you want in the list above. If there are more than 1 value, like injector faults, then you have to add all the values.

    Brian
    Doh! Looks like you got it figured out and beat me to it!
    https://db.tt/SV7ONZpQ
    Rob Lloyd
    '89 Daytona C/S

    2.5 T1 Auto
    13.24 @ 100.5mph
    NHRA #3728 AF/S

    boostbutton.com
    tuning wiki

  13. #1973
    turbo addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    7,351

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    Quote Originally Posted by ShelGame View Post
    In the SMEC, that's right. It just blocks the CEL, not the code.
    Looks like my memory is failing me.

    http://www.turbo-mopar.com/forums/sh...v13&highlight=


    I have gone to Microsquirt since then.

  14. #1974
    Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tuscola, IL
    Posts
    21,441

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    When I load the TSMEC cal I get the following error: Warning->subtype must be 1 to indicate a map table for scaling: WidebandAFRToO2TransferFunction


    That's not throwing anything off for anyone is it? I had a lot of trouble with the most recent version of TLM until I followed the steps to eliminate a couple of errors. I would like to avoid chasing my tail if possible.

  15. #1975
    Garrett booster
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Goshen, New York
    Posts
    132

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    Quote Originally Posted by cordes View Post
    When I load the TSMEC cal I get the following error: Warning->subtype must be 1 to indicate a map table for scaling: WidebandAFRToO2TransferFunction


    That's not throwing anything off for anyone is it? I had a lot of trouble with the most recent version of TLM until I followed the steps to eliminate a couple of errors. I would like to avoid chasing my tail if possible.
    hey Cordes. Did you ever figure this out? I’m thinking about running this cal after i swap to a Garrett 2 turbo.

  16. #1976
    Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tuscola, IL
    Posts
    21,441

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    Quote Originally Posted by Fenderbass View Post
    hey Cordes. Did you ever figure this out? I’m thinking about running this cal after i swap to a Garrett 2 turbo.
    I have ignored it. I think you just need to go into the code and change it to a 1 if you want the error to go away. I had to do that with the LM code because it wasn't scaling something properly on account of it not being setup right.

  17. #1977
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    2,038

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    i'm going to post up a new version of the tsmec cals - 19.7. here is what i've changed.

    1) added a table and cal mod to allow the speedometer to be adjusted via the tune vs a mechanical change.
    2) fixed the labeling for the No2 routines so the config flags point to the proper bits.
    3) fix WidebandAFRToO2TransferFunction error.

    any other things i need to fix/review? i'll do the tsbec stuff next so send me fixes that need to be made for those also.
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  18. #1978
    Boost, it's what's for dinner... Turbo Mopar Staff Aries_Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, NY
    Posts
    8,838

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    Quote Originally Posted by wowzer View Post
    i'm going to post up a new version of the tsmec cals - 19.7. here is what i've changed.

    1) added a table and cal mod to allow the speedometer to be adjusted via the tune vs a mechanical change.
    2) fixed the labeling for the No2 routines so the config flags point to the proper bits.
    3) fix WidebandAFRToO2TransferFunction error.

    any other things i need to fix/review? i'll do the tsbec stuff next so send me fixes that need to be made for those also.
    thank you Morris. you are the man! (not that i know of any fixes that need to be fixed) to have someone still working on making this better is amazing.

    Brian

    Quote Originally Posted by turbovanman
    This one is easy, I have myself to blame, I rush things, don't pay attention to gauges when I should, change to much stuff at once then expect miracles, the list is endless.

  19. #1979
    Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spearfish SD
    Posts
    2,038

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    note to self for t-sbec. check if wb2nb option setup.
    89 Voyager LE, 2.5T2 - rest in peace
    87 Charger Shelby T2 (2.4 conversion in process)

  20. #1980
    Garrett booster
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Goshen, New York
    Posts
    132

    Re: Turbonator SMEC codebase

    Pardon the noob question, but what exactly is T2 Boost Control? It's under the CalCustomOptionConfig window. Also, is there a parameter for a fuel pressure regulator (FWD Performance) that increases pressure as boost goes up? Or should I just cap off the vacuum going to the regulator?

    I'm keeping it simple with just one boost setting (25max) and therefore not enabling the Switchable Boost. Is there anything else I should deselect that I'm not seeing???

    oh and shout out to MoparMattl for his awesome YouTube tutorial of MPTune.

    edit: sorry, I should have also mentioned that I'm using T-SMEC_25_ATX_6343_MP as my base.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •