Thread: 1983 Plymouth Turismo?

Hybrid booster

1983 Plymouth Turismo?

Hey everyone, I may have the opportunity to purchase an '83ish Plymouth Turismo in the near future... I haven't checked it out much, I just know it is the base model and not the "high" performance 2.2, so it may have the 1.7 Volkswagon or 1.6 Peugeot (depending on what year it is). I was wondering how bad are these engines (besides the lawnmower like horsepower ratings) and would they be reliable as a daily driver, I need to justify this car some how and if it's reliable then that works Also, is there any way to tell what year it is exactly by looking at it? It has the single headlights like the Chargers if that helps.

two point two much fun Turbo Mopar Staff Turbodave's Avatar

Re: 1983 Plymouth Turismo?

in 84 they went to the quad headlight setup on everything except the Shelby Charger, so that would make it an 83 or older.

The first 2 door L-body's came out in 79, and the plymouth version was a Horizon TC3 for that year, Turismo was an option package on the TC3 in 80 and 81, and in 82 The TC3 name was dropped and the Turismo name was used on all the 2 door plymouth L-bodies.
    Dave Tekampe
    Director SDAC National
    VP SDAC-Chicago

85 GLH-Turbo (DC intercooled)
    86 GLHS #107
    87 GLHS #148
    87 CSX #161, #608, #674
    88 CSX-T #529, #541
    89 Shadow Competition Package and lots more...

Hybrid booster

How bad were the non-Chrysler engines?

two point two much fun Turbo Mopar Staff Turbodave's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Shelbydaytona91 View Post
    How bad were the non-Chrysler engines?
    I don't have much experience with them. The 1.7 was a VW/Audi creation with chrysler manifolds and controls. Most of the VW engines of that era weren't bad , so the biggest problems would probably be with the carb.

I haven't ever even worked on any with the Puegot engine, that's one I would probably stay away from.
    Dave Tekampe
    Director SDAC National