Thread: MegaSquirt

Garrett booster Turbo Mopar Contributor

MegaSquirt

I'm pretty new to the whole turbo dodge thing, but my father left me his 94 Lebaron convertible. I really wished it was a 5spd, so I went out and found a parts car (93 Shadow) with a good 543. The car also has a T1 turbo on it...

I'm a gear head through and through and I believe that the reason god made cars is so people like us can modify they.

So Now I'm planing a turbo 3.0 5spd project and I've always thought the idea of building my own EFI computer would be cool, so I'm thinking of adding that to the wish list.

Has anyone used one? I'm worried that the stock 3.0L computer won't give me the performance that I want. In the end though I'm only looking for about 250hp. I'm only shooting for low 14s so I can race the car without a roll bar. I figure an honest 250hp should get me there.

Given my goal, should I just use the stock computer, add some T1 injectors (27pph) and a better fuel pump and call it a day?

Thanks,
    David

Supporting Member Turbo Mopar Contributor "Top Fuel" Bender's Avatar

Re: MegaSquirt

well you came to the right place
    and welcome

1st things first
    you listed you found a stick shadow with a T1
    but your lebaron is 3.0 v6 auto I assume from your 3.0l turbo comment?

If the shadow is a 4cyl turbo then the trans is actually a 523 not the 543 which you would be correct in needing
    the 4 and 6 cyl bellhousing are different

If your car is a 4cyl. then scarf it up along with the shiter, console, cables,
    axles will be the same and rear trans mount (you'll need to weld 2 tabs on the k-frame) , or get the trans and use a neon shifter and a polybushing.com rear mount
    and in that case just put in the whole turbo motor and forget teh 3.0v6 turbo if you only want 250hp with is easy with the 4cyl.

I'm pretty sure Frank just started a 3.0 turbo section here on turbo-mopar you might want to check out

I have installed quite a few megasuirt systems on vw's