Thread: Spirit 2.5 turbo swap

Hybrid booster

Spirit 2.5 turbo swap

I'm going to swap a 2.5 turbo/5-speed from a '90 Daytona into my '92 V6 5-speed Spirit. I'm going to pull everything I need and swap it all into my Spirit over the winter. The parts Daytona has a blown engine but a rebuilt head/turbo. So the short block will need to be rebuilt. I'm going to pull the head and oil pan and see if the engine is worth salvaging, if not I'll pull the short block out of a 89 turbo lebaron. While the engine is out of the Spirit it will get a new quick ratio steering rack. Any tips on the wiring/electronics part of the swap? I've never done this swap before so any tips are helpful.

Moderator Turbo Mopar Staff Vigo's Avatar

Re: Spirit 2.5 turbo swap

havent you been paying attention to the turbo 3.0s? why take something interedting and write 'been done a million times' all over it by putting the 4cylinder in?

brents turbo/5spd 3.0 spirit went 13.9 @5psi and im sure he'll tell you there was room for improvement. you'll be lucky to get 13s with 3 times that boost w/ a 2.5 spirit.

Im not saying you wont end up with a quick car. But if you finished putting your 3.0 back together you could easily be running high 14s at 0 psi anyway, and THEN turbo it. dont let anyone tell you 10:1 and boost arent compatible either, it can be done and done well if you do it right.In fact i remember one car, a 3.0 camry with a gt40 iirc, that was running somewhere between 10-11:1 compression and i think that thing made over 400whp.

So now that im through hijacking... i suggest you try to find a harness from an sbec turbo spirit, it will make your life much easier since it will probably plug right in. Post a wanted ad in the parts area here, i found a harness for my sbec minivan very quickly.

Buy my stuff!!!!!!!!!!! :O) Turbo Mopar Vendor turbovanmanČ's Avatar