Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: New to the hobby

Smile New to the hobby

Hey yall i am new to the turbo car hobby. I got started with my dad owning an 87' glhs which he still owns today. My dad is into muscle cars and turbo cars. He has an 86' laser 2.2 turbo, 89 shelby, csx, 87 glhs, 2 89 2.5l turbo lebaron convertibles. Now he has offered me one of the 89's and i am wondering what some basic upgrades i could get for the car. It has a brand new 2.5 in it so no major engine work. I am pretty savy about working on them since i did some work to my moms 89. And this car does need some work. So if yall could help me out that would be great. thanks =)

turbo addict

Re: New to the hobby

-open up the exhaust or go larger with a full 2 1/2 or 3 inch.
    -add more boost = g-valve
    -I/C of some sorts. easy way is a stock rad/ic set up from a daytona that would bolt right in. or go a little more difficult and put a FMIC on.

a few suggestions

-jeff

love the fact that u replied so fast but i kinda have a problem. Being 15 and brand new to the hobby i am pretty retarded in this turbo set up unfortunatley. I also have a chance with an 86 laser turbo. 60k original had a bad motor, put a new 2.2 turbo motor in it, and needs timing.

Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar

The best mod you can do is to yourself. Start reading up on these cars and it will save you a lot of trouble in the long run.

www.thedodgegarage.com

This is a great place to start. All the very basics haven't changed even though some of the methods have.

IMO I wold get a wideband O2 sensor and get setup for doing cals before I do anything else except for the exhaust. There is a lot to be had for a well running car that does not melt pistons.