Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Hybrid heim shifter

Hybrid heim shifter

EDITED 9/11/09
    EDITED 7/15/11
    EDIT: I've been running this setup for 4 years now and no problems.

There are more pictures here, http://minigts.com/car/shifter/ if you are interested to see some other shots. Most are of the connectors and what not.

I also timed myself on this tonight and it took about 1.5 hours to get all the pieces cut off and the new stuff installed. This doesn't count for making the rods, so I would add about another half hour. Also, this is my second set, so prep was quicker as well.

Well after much deliberating with myself (get your mind out of the gutter), I decided I would fore go (sp?) the 100% heim-joint shift kit and propose an alternative.

My decision was based on NUMEROUS times of going under the car to replace the starter, fix the oil return line from the turbo or do just about ANYTHING on the back side of the engine and working from the bottom. The idea of the heim-joint setup is rock solid for a shifter that will not disconnect unless of seriously degraded parts, but for me I needed something I could remove and put back without having to worry about wrenches and the lack of space to do anything with them. Therefore, I did some searching and found a thread identifying a company called Midwest Control(s). They offer all types of connectors and rods to create whatever you would like. So after ordering my parts and taking a chance on a specific connector, I was able to put together a full shift kit that replaces the former factory plastic and metal connecting rods and replaces them with quick release connectors.

Here are some pictures of the factory one that is notorious for disintegrating and another comparing it to the new one and the alignment of it.

Here are some pictures of the final parts used minus one of the shifter rods (mainly because I couldn't remember where I placed it before I took the picture) and a close up of one of the connectors.