Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Head gasket replacement

turbo addict

Unhappy Head gasket replacement

well my head gasket blew today on my way to work, smoke starting slowly coming out of exhaust had to move across street, shut it down, check oil looks good(no coolant in it), then restarted it and it was DUMPING out smoke, so i shall be removing the head later on tonight after work. i was wondering on where are some good links to some good walk thoughs on how to remove the head, im really good with engines but more concirned with the turbo lines n such. Should i have the head checked, or should i just use a straight edge and check for major cracks. I can get the head checked for around $40 but dont really wanna wait untill monday to turn it in, then wait how ever long that will take. Any sugestions, id like to find good indepth pictures ont he topic, along with tq specs. im new to turbo dodges so it should be intresting. I was unlucky and didnt find any real picture threads on the topic.

Sugestions ont he whole thing, the engine has a new head gasket, well it did and i have a mp one that came with the car, along with another head, suposably the head on the car has been gone though, i got it from topdolla69(ben) good guy . Sugestions?

Garrett booster

Re: Head gasket replacement

It's been a little while since I've done this but here goes,

Get a manual for torque specs.

Drain coolant, remove upper radiator hose.

Under the car:
    Remove the bolts from the downpipe flange where the dp bolts to the swingvalve/turbo. There is a coolant return line that comes from the turbo to the block, remove it from the block. There is an oil return line from the bottom of the turbo to the block, remove the clamp on the silicone hose there. There is a turbo support bracket as well, remove this.

On top: